AFG vs PAK 1st T20: Afghanisthan shock Pakisthan to register a historic win

Mohammad Nabi and Najibullah Zadran remained undefeated as Afghanistan defeated Pakistan by six wickets in the first Twenty20 International

AFG vs PAK 1st T20: Mohammad Nabi and Najibullah Zadran remained undefeated as Afghanistan defeated Pakistan by six wickets in the first Twenty20 International at the Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium on Friday.

Afghanistan had a clinical effort from start to finish, despite losing the toss and being asked to bowl first.

Pakistan’s innings never gained any momentum as the hosts’ disciplined bowling caused them to lose wickets at regular intervals.

In their combined 11 overs, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Nabi each took two wickets while only allowing 34 runs.

Rashid Khan joined the party and helped contain the score as spin continued to rule the first inning.

The Pakistani bowlers weren’t going down easily, despite the target not appearing to be very difficult. Afghanistan appeared to have lost their momentum in their pursuit at 45/4.

But, the resurgent Nabi upheld his reputation for excellence and decency by forming an unbroken partnership with Najibullah Zadran and leading Afghanistan to victory with more than two overs to spare.

“Pleasure to win, as we’ve always lost against them by small margins,” Afghanistan skipper Khan said.

“Wearing Afghanistan colours and leading the team in a win is a proud achievement. We never know the wicket . . . (but the) mindset was . . . to adjust accordingly.”

Afghanistan has a chance at a first-series win in the remaining two T20s on Sunday and Monday.

Full Scorecard: AFG vs PAK 1st T20

Pakistan  (20 ovs maximum)

Saim Ayub b Naveen-ul-Haq17153521113.33
Mohammad Haris c Azmatullah Omarzai b Fazalhaq Farooqi611171054.54
Abdullah Shafique lbw b Azmatullah Omarzai025000.00
Tayyab Tahir c & b Rashid Khan1691430177.77
Azam Khan †c Gulbadin Naib b Mujeeb Ur Rahman029000.00
Imad Wasim b Fazalhaq Farooqi1832500056.25
Shadab Khan (c)c Azmatullah Omarzai b Mujeeb Ur Rahman1218210066.66
Faheem Ashraf c Rashid Khan b Mohammad Nabi28100025.00
Naseem Shah hit wicket b Mohammad Nabi2780028.57
Zaman Khan not out882101100.00
Ihsanullah not out68131075.00
Extras(b 3, lb 1, w 1)5
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 4.60)92/9
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Mohammad Haris, 2.6 ov), 2-22 (Abdullah Shafique, 3.4 ov), 3-39 (Saim Ayub, 5.6 ov), 4-39 (Tayyab Tahir, 6.1 ov), 5-41 (Azam Khan, 7.2 ov), 6-60 (Shadab Khan, 12.1 ov), 7-65 (Faheem Ashraf, 13.5 ov), 8-71 (Naseem Shah, 15.4 ov), 9-80 (Imad Wasim, 17.5 ov) • DRS
Fazalhaq Farooqi401323.25182010
Azmatullah Omarzai302016.6681100
Mujeeb Ur Rahman40922.25150000
Rashid Khan401513.75110000
Mohammad Nabi301224.00110100

Afghanistan  (T: 93 runs from 20 ovs)

Rahmanullah Gurbaz †c Abdullah Shafique b Naseem Shah1617291194.11
Ibrahim Zadran c †Azam Khan b Ihsanullah911201081.81
Gulbadin Naib c Mohammad Haris b Ihsanullah023000.00
Mohammad Nabi not out38385731100.00
Karim Janat b Imad Wasim716180043.75
Najibullah Zadran not out1723322073.91
Extras(b 4, lb 5, w 2)11
TOTAL17.5 Ov (RR: 5.49)98/4
Did not bat: Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan (c), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq 
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Ibrahim Zadran, 4.1 ov), 2-23 (Gulbadin Naib, 4.3 ov), 3-27 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 5.3 ov), 4-45 (Karim Janat, 9.4 ov) • DRS
Naseem Shah402716.75102100
Zaman Khan301906.33113000
Imad Wasim411112.75171000
Shadab Khan301505.0071000

For more cricket news, follow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here