BAN vs AFG: Bangladesh creates History by beating Afghanistan by 561 runs

Bangladesh V/s Afganistan

BAN vs AFG: Bangladesh thrashed Afghanistan by 546 runs on the fourth day of their one-off Test in Mirpur on Saturday, claiming the largest Test win by runs in the twenty-first century after fast bowler Taskin Ahmed earned career-best figures of 4-37.

In their first test match since 2021, the visitors were given an unrealistic target of 662 runs, and they were eventually bowled for 115 runs after the last batsman, Zahir Khan, had to retire hurt after being struck by a Taskin bouncer.

Bangladesh achieved the largest test win by runs since Australia’s 562-run triumph over England in 1934, surpassing their previous record of 226 runs against Zimbabwe.

With a 675-run victory over Australia in 1928, England holds the all-time record.

As Afghanistan, who resumed at 45-2 on Saturday, stumbled early when Nasir Jamal (6) edged Ebadot Hossain in the third over, the pace attack led by Taskin combined to capture 14 wickets in the encounter, with Shoriful Islam contributing with 3-28.

Najmul Hossain Shanto scored 146 for Bangladesh in their 382 run first innings, which they followed up by bowling out Afghanistan for 146.

Bangladesh declared at 425-4 on Friday after Najmul scored 124 in the second and Mominul Haque hit an unbroken 121 to snap a two-year century drought.

BAN vs AFG: Full Scorecard

Bangladesh 1st Innings 

Mahmudul Hasan Joy c Ibrahim Zadran b Rahmat Shah761372169055.47
Zakir Hasan c †Afsar Zazai b Nijat Masood1280050.00
Najmul Hossain Shanto c Nasir Jamal b Amir Hamza14617527723283.42
Mominul Haque c †Afsar Zazai b Nijat Masood1525411160.00
Mushfiqur Rahim c Nasir Jamal b Nijat Masood47761574061.84
Litton Das (c)†c Ibrahim Zadran b Zahir Khan915290160.00
Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Amir Hamza b Yamin Ahmadzai4880948060.00
Taskin Ahmed lbw b Yamin Ahmadzai27170028.57
Taijul Islam c Abdul Malik b Nijat Masood023000.00
Shoriful Islam b Nijat Masood611171054.54
Ebadot Hossain not out028000.00
Extras(b 8, lb 1, nb 16, w 7)32
TOTAL86 Ov (RR: 4.44, 438 Mins)382
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Zakir Hasan, 1.1 ov), 2-218 (Mahmudul Hasan Joy, 44.1 ov), 3-256 (Mominul Haque, 52.1 ov), 4-271 (Najmul Hossain Shanto, 57.6 ov), 5-290 (Litton Das, 63.1 ov), 6-373 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 82.2 ov), 7-375 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 83.1 ov), 8-375 (Taijul Islam, 83.3 ov), 9-377 (Taskin Ahmed, 84.4 ov), 10-382 (Shoriful Islam, 85.6 ov) • DRS
Yamin Ahmadzai1013923.9001
Nijat Masood1627954.9314
Karim Janat1133303.0010
Zahir Khan1609816.1218
Amir Hamza2418513.5403
Hashmatullah Shahidi30903.0000
Rahmat Shah613015.0000

Afghanistan 1st Innings 

Ibrahim Zadran c †Litton Das b Shoriful Islam617301035.29
Abdul Malik c Zakir Hasan b Ebadot Hossain1721442080.95
Rahmat Shah c Taskin Ahmed b Ebadot Hossain918322050.00
Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)c Mehidy Hasan Miraz b Shoriful Islam916321056.25
Nasir Jamal lbw b Mehidy Hasan Miraz3543796081.39
Afsar Zazai †c Shoriful Islam b Ebadot Hossain3640686090.00
Karim Janat st †Litton Das b Mehidy Hasan Miraz2347542048.93
Amir Hamza c Mominul Haque b Ebadot Hossain615181040.00
Yamin Ahmadzai c †Litton Das b Taijul Islam0312000.00
Nijat Masood c Zakir Hasan b Taijul Islam01613000.00
Zahir Khan not out024000.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 4)5
TOTAL39 Ov (RR: 3.74, 197 Mins)146
Did not bat: Bahir Shah 
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Ibrahim Zadran, 5.2 ov), 2-24 (Abdul Malik, 6.5 ov), 3-35 (Rahmat Shah, 10.4 ov), 4-51 (Hashmatullah Shahidi, 13.1 ov), 5-116 (Nasir Jamal, 24.5 ov), 6-116 (Afsar Zazai, 25.2 ov), 7-128 (Amir Hamza, 29.5 ov), 8-140 (Yamin Ahmadzai, 33.2 ov), 9-146 (Nijat Masood, 37.4 ov), 10-146 (Karim Janat, 38.6 ov) • DRS
Taskin Ahmed704806.8504
Shoriful Islam822823.5000
Ebadot Hossain1014744.7000
Taijul Islam50721.4000
Mehidy Hasan Miraz911521.6600

Bangladesh 2nd Innings 

Mahmudul Hasan Joy c Ibrahim Zadran b Amir Hamza17131240130.76
Zakir Hasan run out (Nasir Jamal/Ibrahim Zadran/†Afsar Zazai)71951858074.73
Najmul Hossain Shanto c Abdul Malik b Zahir Khan12415126115082.11
Mominul Haque not out12114522812183.44
Mushfiqur Rahim c Ibrahim Zadran b Zahir Khan83301266.66
Litton Das (c)†not out66811358081.48
Extras(b 2, lb 2, nb 8, w 6)18
TOTAL80 Ov (RR: 5.31, 414 Mins)425/4d
Did not bat: Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain 
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Mahmudul Hasan Joy, 1.6 ov), 2-191 (Zakir Hasan, 34.3 ov), 3-274 (Najmul Hossain Shanto, 53.1 ov), 4-282 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 53.4 ov) • DRS
Yamin Ahmadzai1316104.6900
Nijat Masood12.518306.4604
Amir Hamza16.109015.5600
Karim Janat804806.0020
Zahir Khan23011224.8604
Hashmatullah Shahidi301906.3300
Nasir Jamal20402.0000
Rahmat Shah20402.0000

Afghanistan 2nd Innings (T: 662 runs)

Ibrahim Zadran lbw b Shoriful Islam013000.00
Abdul Malik c †Litton Das b Taskin Ahmed57141071.42
Rahmat Shah c †Litton Das b Taskin Ahmed30731432041.09
Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)retired not out1314252092.85
Nasir Jamal c †Litton Das b Ebadot Hossain622390027.27
Afsar Zazai †c Mehidy Hasan Miraz b Shoriful Islam612280050.00
Bahir Shah c Taijul Islam b Shoriful Islam713151053.84
Karim Janat b Taskin Ahmed18182802100.00
Amir Hamza c Mominul Haque b Mehidy Hasan Miraz521371023.80
Yamin Ahmadzai c Mushfiqur Rahim b Taskin Ahmed11434007.14
Nijat Masood not out431510133.33
Zahir Khan retired not out46111066.66
Extras(b 4, nb 6, w 6)16
TOTAL33 Ov (RR: 3.48, 201 Mins)115
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ibrahim Zadran, 0.1 ov), 2-7 (Abdul Malik, 1.5 ov), 2-26* (Hashmatullah Shahidi, retired not out), 3-48 (Nasir Jamal, 13.3 ov), 4-65 (Afsar Zazai, 18.1 ov), 5-78 (Bahir Shah, 20.5 ov), 6-91 (Rahmat Shah, 24.6 ov), 7-98 (Karim Janat, 26.3 ov), 8-106 (Amir Hamza, 31.3 ov), 9-110 (Yamin Ahmadzai, 32.1 ov), 9-115* (Zahir Khan, retired not out) • DRS
Shoriful Islam1012832.8000
Taskin Ahmed923744.1116
Taijul Islam511903.8000
Mehidy Hasan Miraz20512.5000
Ebadot Hossain722213.1410

For more cricket news, follow 12betindia.

Also, check out for the best Cricket news and updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here