Players Banned from the IPL

Players Banned from the IPL

Players Banned from the IPL: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is renowned for its high-octane cricket matches, featuring a blend of international and domestic players. However, amidst the excitement, the league has also witnessed its share of controversies, including the banning of players for various reasons. This article delves into the instances of Players Banned from the IPL, shedding light on the reasons behind these decisions.

Cases of Players Banned from the IPL

The Exclusion of Pakistani Players

Players Banned from the IPL
Players Banned from the IPL 4

Since the inaugural IPL season in 2008, Pakistani players have been notably absent from the league. The exclusion stems from the political tensions between India and Pakistan, particularly after the 2008 Mumbai attacks. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to ban Pakistani players from participating in the IPL, and this ban has been in effect ever since.

The Suspension of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals

Players Banned from the IPL
Players Banned from the IPL 5

In a significant development, two IPL teams, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR), faced suspensions due to their involvement in illegal betting activities. The scandal, which broke out in 2013, led to a two-year suspension for both teams after the team owners were found guilty of betting. This decision underscored the league’s zero-tolerance policy towards any form of corruption.

Score big with 12BET! Join today and turn your passion for sports into winnings!

Individual Player Bans

Over the years, several players have been banned from the IPL for various reasons. These include

Players Banned from the IPL
Players Banned from the IPL 6
  • Luke Pomersbach and Mohammad Asif: Banned for off-field issues and doping violations, respectively.
  • Ravindra Jadeja: Faced a ban due to contractual irregularities.
  • Pravin Tambe: Disqualified for participating in unsanctioned cricket leagues.
  • Harbhajan Singh: Temporarily suspended for the “Slapgate” controversy.
  • Steve Smith and David Warner: Banned due to their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal.

Recent Developments

As of the latest IPL season, there have been reports of players being scrutinized for suspect bowling actions. The BCCI listed seven players, including Chetan Sakariya and Manish Pandey, who may face restrictions if their actions are deemed illegal.


The IPL continues to be a platform for showcasing cricketing talent from around the world. While the bans reflect the league’s commitment to maintaining the integrity of the game, they also serve as a reminder of the responsibilities that come with being a professional athlete. As the IPL evolves, it remains to be seen how it will navigate these challenges while preserving the spirit of cricket.

For more articles like the Top 10 Lowest Totals in IPL History, follow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here