LSG vs CSK: KL Rahul’s 82 Powers Eight-Wicket Win Against CSK


LSG vs CSK: Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) emerged victorious against Chennai Super Kings (CSK), thanks to a stellar performance led by captain KL Rahul.

Rahul showcased his batting prowess by scoring a magnificent 82 runs off just 53 balls, forming a formidable opening partnership of 134 runs with Quinton de Kock. This partnership set the stage for LSG’s successful chase of CSK’s target of 177 runs, ultimately clinching victory by eight wickets with an over to spare. This triumph marked LSG’s fourth win of the season, further solidifying their position in the league.

Earlier in the match, LSG’s bowlers put up a commendable display, limiting CSK’s batters for much of the innings. However, a late surge, spearheaded by the evergreen MS Dhoni, propelled the defending champions past the 170-run mark. Dhoni’s unbeaten 28 runs off just nine deliveries, coupled with Ravindra Jadeja’s resilient 57 off 40 balls, boosted CSK’s total to 176/6.

Opting to bowl first after winning the toss, LSG’s decision proved fruitful as they maintained a tight grip on CSK’s batting lineup. Despite CSK’s attempts to build partnerships, LSG’s bowlers, led by Rahul, managed to keep the pressure on. Notably, CSK’s new opening pair of Ajinkya Rahane and Rachin Ravindra struggled to make an impact, with Ravindra falling for a golden duck in the second over.

Throughout the innings, LSG’s disciplined bowling prevented CSK from establishing significant partnerships, with Ajinkya Rahane’s 36 off 24 balls and Moeen Ali’s 30 off 20 balls standing out as CSK’s best scores outside of Jadeja and Dhoni’s contributions.

LSG’s comprehensive victory not only showcased their dominance on the field but also underscored their determination to excel in the IPL season.

LSG vs CSK: Full Scorecard

Chennai Super Kings  (20 ovs maximum)

Ajinkya Rahane b Pandya36243851150.00
Rachin Ravindra b Mohsin Khan015000.00
Ruturaj Gaikwad (c)c †Rahul b Yash Thakur17131410130.76
Ravindra Jadeja not out57407651142.50
Shivam Dube c †Rahul b Stoinis38120037.50
Sameer Rizvi st †Rahul b Pandya1550020.00
Moeen Ali c Badoni b Ravi Bishnoi30202203150.00
MS Dhoni †not out2891532311.11
Extras(lb 1, w 3)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.80)176/6
Did not bat: Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana 
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Rachin Ravindra, 1.1 ov), 2-33 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 4.2 ov), 3-68 (Ajinkya Rahane, 8.1 ov), 4-87 (Shivam Dube, 11.1 ov), 5-90 (Sameer Rizvi, 12.2 ov), 6-141 (Moeen Ali, 17.5 ov) • DRS
Matt Henry302608.6662100
Mohsin Khan403719.2572230
Yash Thakur4045111.2566100
Krunal Pandya301625.3361000
Ravi Bishnoi4044111.0063300
Marcus Stoinis20713.5060000

Lucknow Super Giants  (T: 177 runs from 20 ovs)

Quinton de Kock c †Dhoni b Mustafizur Rahman54437251125.58
KL Rahul (c)†c Jadeja b Pathirana82538593154.71
Nicholas Pooran not out23122831191.66
Marcus Stoinis not out871310114.28
Extras(lb 3, nb 1, w 9)13
TOTAL19 Ov (RR: 9.47)180/2
Did not bat: Deepak Hooda, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Matt Henry, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Yash Thakur 
Fall of wickets: 1-134 (Quinton de Kock, 14.6 ov), 2-161 (KL Rahul, 17.1 ov) • DRS
Deepak Chahar302608.6682200
Tushar Deshpande4042010.5095141
Mustafizur Rahman4043110.7557020
Ravindra Jadeja3032010.6614010
Matheesha Pathirana402917.2580220
Moeen Ali10505.0020000


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here