PBKS vs RR: Punjab Kings Extend Rajasthan Royals’ Losing Streak to 4 Games

PBKS vs RR: Punjab Kings Extend Rajasthan Royals' Losing Streak to 4 Games

PBKS vs RR: Sanju Samson’s Rajasthan Royals suffered a major setback against the Punjab Kings in match No.65 of the IPL 2024, at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Fresh from his entry into the playoffs with Kolkata Knight Riders, Sanju Samson, leading the Royals, faced a challenging task after replacing Jos Buttler in the lineup. However, Samson’s own performance was underwhelming, managing only 18 runs, as was Yashasvi Jaiswal, who could only muster 4 runs.

Despite the early setbacks, Rajasthan found some relief in the form of Riyan Parag, who played a crucial knock of 48 runs off 34 balls. Ravichandran Ashwin also contributed with a valuable cameo of 28 runs off 19 balls. These efforts helped Rajasthan post a total of 144-9 in their 20 overs.

In response, Punjab Kings faced an early scare as Avesh Khan triggered a top-order collapse, taking two wickets in his first over. However, skipper Curran came to Punjab’s rescue, forming a crucial partnership with Jitesh Sharma (22) and receiving support from Impact Player Ashutosh Sharma. Curran’s unbeaten 63 off 41 balls steered Punjab to a five-wicket victory.

With this win, Punjab Kings continue to make strides in the IPL 2024, showcasing their resilience and determination, while Rajasthan Royals will be looking to bounce back stronger in their upcoming matches.

PBKS vs RR: Full Scorecard

Rajasthan Royals  (20 ovs maximum)

Yashasvi Jaiswal b Curran44310100.00
Tom Kohler-Cadmore c JM Sharma b Chahar1823392178.26
Sanju Samson (c)†c Chahar b Ellis18153030120.00
Riyan Parag lbw b Patel48346760141.17
Ravichandran Ashwin c Shashank Singh b Arshdeep Singh28192531147.36
Dhruv Jurel c Harpreet Brar b Curran013000.00
Rovman Powell c & b Chahar4531080.00
Donovan Ferreira c Rossouw b Patel78140087.50
Trent Boult run out (JM Sharma/†Bairstow)1292020133.33
Avesh Khan not out32800150.00
Extras(lb 1, w 1)2
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.20)144/9
Did not bat: Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal 
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 0.4 ov), 2-40 (Sanju Samson, 6.4 ov), 3-42 (Tom Kohler-Cadmore, 7.2 ov), 4-92 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 12.6 ov), 5-97 (Dhruv Jurel, 13.3 ov), 6-102 (Rovman Powell, 14.3 ov), 7-125 (Donovan Ferreira, 17.3 ov), 8-138 (Riyan Parag, 19.2 ov), 9-144 (Trent Boult, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Sam Curran302428.00114100
Arshdeep Singh403117.75126000
Nathan Ellis402416.00103000
Harshal Patel402827.0082010
Rahul Chahar402626.5092100
Harpreet Brar1010010.0011000

Punjab Kings  (T: 145 runs from 20 ovs)

Prabhsimran Singh c Chahal b Boult64310150.00
Jonny Bairstow †c Parag b Chahal1422411063.63
Rilee Rossouw c Jaiswal b Avesh Khan22131850169.23
Shashank Singh lbw b Avesh Khan022000.00
Sam Curran (c)not out63416253153.65
Jitesh Sharma c Parag b Chahal22203102110.00
Ashutosh Sharma not out17111611154.54
Extras(w 1)1
TOTAL18.5 Ov (RR: 7.69)145/5
Did not bat: Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Nathan Ellis, Rahul Chahar 
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Prabhsimran Singh, 0.4 ov), 2-36 (Rilee Rossouw, 4.3 ov), 3-36 (Shashank Singh, 4.5 ov), 4-48 (Jonny Bairstow, 7.6 ov), 5-111 (Jitesh Sharma, 15.4 ov) • DRS
Trent Boult302719.0075000
Sandeep Sharma402807.00113100
Avesh Khan3.502827.3091200
Ravichandran Ashwin403107.75111300
Yuzvendra Chahal403127.7553010


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here