NZ vs NED live: New Zealand crush Netherlands by 99 runs 

NZ vs NED Live

NZ vs NED Live: New Zealand maintained their unbeaten run in the Men’s Cricket World Cup with a comprehensive 99-run victory over the Netherlands in Hyderabad.

The Kiwis, who are eyeing their third consecutive World Cup final, posted 322-7 after being asked to bat first. Opener Will Young, Tom Latham and Rachin Ravindra all scored half-centuries, while Mitchell Santner smashed 36 off 17 balls at the end, including two sixes in the final over.

The Netherlands, who are still looking for their first win in the tournament, never threatened to chase down the target and were dismissed for 223 in 46.3 overs. Colin Ackermann top-scored with 69, but he found little support from his teammates. Santner was the pick of the bowlers for New Zealand, claiming 5-59 with his left-arm spin.

New Zealand had thrashed England by nine wickets in their opening game on Thursday, and this win was another display of their consistency and reliability. Young (70) and Ravindra (51), who are filling in for the injured captain Kane Williamson, showed their class and temperament with some elegant strokes. Williamson is expected to return for New Zealand’s next game.

New Zealand will face tougher challenges ahead, as they will need to score more runs on some of the smaller grounds in India. However, they have a balanced and experienced side that can adapt to any conditions.

Matt Henry (3-40) was superb with the new ball once again, removing Vikram Singh with a clever change of angle. Santner and Ravindra (1-46) then applied pressure on the Dutch batsmen, who also ran poorly between the wickets. Teja Nidamanuru was run out after a 50-run partnership with Ackermann, while New Zealand also missed some chances to inflict more damage.

Henry finished off the innings with two wickets in his final over, catching Sybrand Engelbrecht on the boundary and bowling Aryan Dutt. New Zealand celebrated their second win in as many games, while the Netherlands were left to rue their mistakes.

NZ VS NED LIVE: Full Scorecard

New Zealand  (50 ovs maximum)

Devon Conway c de Leede b van der Merwe3240515180.00
Will Young c de Leede b van Meekeren70801067287.50
Rachin Ravindra c †Edwards b van der Merwe51518731100.00
Daryl Mitchell b van Meekeren48476752102.12
Tom Latham (c)†st †Edwards b Dutt53467261115.21
Glenn Phillips c †Edwards b de Leede44610100.00
Mark Chapman c van der Merwe b Dutt513110038.46
Mitchell Santner not out36172532211.76
Matt Henry not out104601250.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 2, w 8)13
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 6.44)322/7
Did not bat: Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult 
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Devon Conway, 12.1 ov), 2-144 (Will Young, 26.1 ov), 3-185 (Rachin Ravindra, 32.2 ov), 4-238 (Daryl Mitchell, 40.1 ov), 5-247 (Glenn Phillips, 41.4 ov), 6-254 (Mark Chapman, 44.1 ov), 7-293 (Tom Latham, 48.4 ov) • DRS
Aryan Dutt1026226.20313310
Ryan Klein714105.85257010
Paul van Meekeren905926.55287201
Roelof van der Merwe905626.22205100
Colin Ackermann402807.0091200
Bas de Leede1006416.40286201
Vikramjit Singh10909.0011000

Netherlands  (T: 323 runs from 50 ovs)

Vikramjit Singh b Henry1220221060.00
Max O’Dowd lbw b Santner1631402051.61
Colin Ackermann c Henry b Santner6973985094.52
Bas de Leede c Boult b Ravindra1825213072.00
Teja Nidamanuru run out (Ferguson/†Latham)2126282180.76
Scott Edwards (c)†c & b Santner30273721111.11
Sybrand Engelbrecht c Conway b Henry2934553085.29
Roelof van der Merwe c Henry b Santner1690016.66
Ryan Klein lbw b Santner815230053.33
Aryan Dutt b Henry1120190155.00
Paul van Meekeren not out43510133.33
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 2)4
TOTAL46.3 Ov (RR: 4.79)223
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Vikramjit Singh, 5.6 ov), 2-43 (Max O’Dowd, 10.5 ov), 3-67 (Bas de Leede, 16.4 ov), 4-117 (Teja Nidamanuru, 25.4 ov), 5-157 (Colin Ackermann, 32.5 ov), 6-174 (Scott Edwards, 34.5 ov), 7-180 (Roelof van der Merwe, 36.3 ov), 8-198 (Ryan Klein, 41.1 ov), 9-218 (Sybrand Engelbrecht, 44.6 ov), 10-223 (Aryan Dutt, 46.3 ov) • DRS
Trent Boult803404.25293010
Matt Henry8.304034.70294000
Mitchell Santner1005955.90304200
Lockie Ferguson803204.00315000
Rachin Ravindra1004614.60303101
Glenn Phillips201105.5020000

Follow 12cricket for all the news and updates on ICC cricket world cup 2023.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here