IND VS AUS World Cup 2023: Kohli and Rahul leads India to victory over Australia


IND vs AUS World Cup 2023: India started their World Cup campaign on a winning note as they chased down Australia’s modest total of 199 with seven wickets and 52 balls remaining in Chennai.

Virat Kohli was the star of the show, scoring 85 from 87 balls and sharing a 165-run partnership with KL Rahul, who remained unbeaten on 97. The duo rescued India from a precarious situation of 2-3, after Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood had removed the top three batsmen for ducks.

Australia had earlier struggled to post a competitive score on a slow and low pitch that favoured the spinners. Steve Smith (46) and David Warner (41) were the only batsmen to cross 40, as India’s spin trio of Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav took six wickets between them.

Jadeja was the pick of the bowlers, claiming 3-28 from his 10 overs. He dismissed Warner, Marnus Labuschagne and Glenn Maxwell to break the backbone of Australia’s batting. The pace duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami then cleaned up the tail, restricting Australia to 199 in 48.4 overs.

India’s chase got off to a disastrous start, as Starc dismissed Ishan Kishan in the first over. Hazlewood then struck twice in his first over, trapping Rohit Sharma lbw and having Shreyas Iyer caught.

However, Kohli and Rahul steadied the ship with a calm and composed partnership. They played cautiously at first, before accelerating in the middle overs. Kohli hit six fours, while Rahul hit eight fours and two sixes.

Kohli fell in the 38th over, caught by Labuschagne off Hazlewood, but Rahul carried on till the end. He was well supported by Hardik Pandya, who scored 11 from 8 balls. The pair finished the game with a six each, as India reached their target in 41.4 overs.


Australia  (50 ovs maximum)

David Warner c & b Kuldeep Yadav4152766078.84
Mitchell Marsh c Kohli b Bumrah0611000.00
Steven Smith b Jadeja46711125064.78
Marnus Labuschagne c †Rahul b Jadeja2741581065.85
Glenn Maxwell b Kuldeep Yadav1525441060.00
Alex Carey †lbw b Jadeja021000.00
Cameron Green c Pandya b Ashwin820310040.00
Pat Cummins (c)c Iyer b Bumrah1524261162.50
Mitchell Starc c Iyer b Mohammed Siraj2835582180.00
Adam Zampa c Kohli b Pandya620280030.00
Josh Hazlewood not out11600100.00
Extras(lb 6, w 6)12
TOTAL49.3 Ov (RR: 4.02)199
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Mitchell Marsh, 2.2 ov), 2-74 (David Warner, 16.3 ov), 3-110 (Steven Smith, 27.1 ov), 4-119 (Marnus Labuschagne, 29.2 ov), 5-119 (Alex Carey, 29.4 ov), 6-140 (Glenn Maxwell, 35.5 ov), 7-140 (Cameron Green, 36.2 ov), 8-165 (Pat Cummins, 42.2 ov), 9-189 (Adam Zampa, 48.2 ov), 10-199 (Mitchell Starc, 49.3 ov) • DRS
Jasprit Bumrah1003523.50411140
Mohammed Siraj6.312614.00263020
Hardik Pandya302819.3386000
Ravichandran Ashwin1013413.40322000
Kuldeep Yadav1004224.20312100
Ravindra Jadeja1022832.80382000

India  (T: 200 runs from 50 ovs)

Rohit Sharma (c)lbw b Hazlewood0610000.00
Ishan Kishan c Green b Starc013000.00
Virat Kohli c Labuschagne b Hazlewood851161716073.27
Shreyas Iyer c Warner b Hazlewood032000.00
KL Rahul †not out971151808284.34
Hardik Pandya not out1181701137.50
Extras(b 1, lb 1, nb 1, w 5)8
TOTAL41.2 Ov (RR: 4.86)201/4
Did not bat: Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj 
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Ishan Kishan, 0.4 ov), 2-2 (Rohit Sharma, 1.3 ov), 3-2 (Shreyas Iyer, 1.6 ov), 4-167 (Virat Kohli, 37.4 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc803113.87282030
Josh Hazlewood913834.22333110
Pat Cummins6.203305.21192111
Glenn Maxwell803304.12241100
Cameron Green201105.5072000
Adam Zampa805306.62134000

Follow 12cricket for all the news and updates on the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here