New Zealand Squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 announced

New Zealand squad

New Zealand Squad: New Zealand has officially unveiled its 15-memeber squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup to be held in India. The announcement took place at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland, a place that holds special significance for leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, one of the players named in the squad. With an exciting blend of experienced campaigners and promising talents, New Zealand aims to make a strong impression on the global cricketing stage once again.

Key Inclusions and Notable Omissions

Captain Kane Williamson headlines the New Zealand squad, with his inclusion particularly heartening given his swift recovery from a ruptured ACL during the 2023 IPL. Joining him is veteran fast bowler Tim Southee, marking his fourth appearance in the World Cup. Williamson and Southee’s wealth of experience will undoubtedly prove invaluable to the team’s campaign.

A standout performer in the recent white-ball formats, Mark Chapman has secured his place in the squad. Additionally, the 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who impressed with figures of 3/48 against England in a recent ODI, has earned his spot. These young talents bring a fresh dynamic to the team and will be eager to make their mark on the world stage.

However, there were some notable exclusions from the squad. Young top-order batter Finn Allen and backup wicket-keeper Tim Seifert missed out, with Tom Latham being the sole wicket-keeper selected. Adam Milne, who recently suffered a hamstring injury during New Zealand’s tour of England, was also left out. The decisions were undoubtedly tough for New Zealand coach Gary Stead, but he believes the squad strikes the right balance between youth and experience for the challenges ahead.

Coach Stead’s Perspective

Gary Stead, the head coach of the New Zealand team, expressed his thoughts on the squad selection. He acknowledged the difficulty of making the final choices but emphasized the importance of assembling a well-rounded team for the highly competitive tournament.

“It’s always a special time to name a tournament team, and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It’s a great honor to represent your country at a World Cup,” Stead said.

“From Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time, it’s always a very exciting time. As with any squad named for an ICC tournament, there have been some tough calls and there will be some disappointed players. The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament.”

Upcoming Challenges

Before the World Cup officially kicks off on October 5th with a rematch of the 2019 final against England, New Zealand will engage in ODI clashes against England and Bangladesh. These encounters will serve as crucial preparation and an opportunity to fine-tune their strategies and combinations.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament.

Follow for all the latest news and updates from the world of cricket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here