ICC announce Match officials for Cricket World Cup 2023

ICC announce Match officials for Cricket World Cup 2023

In an exciting development for cricket fans around the world, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the distinguished list of match officials for Cricket World Cup 2023, set to take place in India. The announcement has generated immense anticipation and excitement among cricket enthusiasts, as the ICC ensures that the game’s premier event is officiated by some of the most respected names in cricketing officiating.

A total of 20 match officials have been appointed, a testament to the rigorous selection process and the high standards of cricketing expertise required for such a prestigious tournament. It’s important to note that the officials for the semi-finals and the grand finale will be named as the tournament progresses.

The illustrious panel comprises 16 umpires and four match referees, each of whom brings a wealth of experience to the table. Notably, a dozen of these officials belong to the esteemed Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, a recognition of their exceptional skills and track record in international cricket. The twelve umpires from this elite panel are:

  1. Christopher Gaffaney (New Zealand)
  2. Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)
  3. Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
  4. Michael Gough (England)
  5. Nitin Menon (India)
  6. Paul Reiffel (Australia)
  7. Richard Illingworth (England)
  8. Richard Kettleborough (England)
  9. Rodney Tucker (Australia)
  10. Joel Wilson (West Indies)
  11. Ahsan Raza (Pakistan)
  12. Adrian Holdstock (South Africa)

The remaining four officials hail from the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel, showcasing the ICC’s commitment to nurturing and promoting emerging talent in the realm of cricket officiating. These promising officials are:

  1. Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid (Bangladesh)
  2. Paul Wilson (Australia)
  3. Alex Wharf (England)
  4. Chris Brown (New Zealand)

This formidable group of match officials includes three umpires who played pivotal roles in the Cricket World Cup 2019 final, namely Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, and Rodney Tucker. However, Aleem Dar, who officiated in that memorable match, will not be part of the lineup for this World Cup, as he stepped down from the Elite Panel earlier in the year.

Adding to the prestige of the event, the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 comprises four former international players, all highly experienced and respected in the cricketing world. These esteemed match referees are:

  1. Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)
  2. Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
  3. Richie Richardson (West Indies)
  4. Javagal Srinath (India)

The officials for the tournament opener, a highly anticipated clash between England and New Zealand on October 5th, have also been unveiled. Nitin Menon and Kumar Dharmasena will assume on-field umpire duties, while Paul Wilson will serve as the TV umpire, with Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid as the fourth umpire. The role of match referee for this fixture will be undertaken by Andy Pycroft.

Sean Easey, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, expressed his confidence in the selected group of officials, emphasizing their readiness for the challenging task ahead. “We are pleased to announce the match officials who will be officiating at the biggest ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup ever,” Easey stated. “This group is the very best from around the world, and we believe that they are ready to perform what will be a challenging job with the eyes of the global cricketing community focused on every decision.”

With the eyes of the cricketing world eagerly fixed on the forthcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, these appointed officials are poised to ensure that the tournament is officiated with precision, integrity, and the highest standards of cricketing expertise. As the countdown to the World Cup begins, cricket aficionados can look forward to a tournament that promises to be a memorable and thrilling spectacle.

Follow 12cricket for all the latest news and updates from the world of cricket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here