GT vs CSK: Gujarat Titans Keep Playoff Hopes Alive with Record-Breaking Partnership

GT vs CSK: Gujarat Titans Keep Playoff Hopes Alive with Record-Breaking Partnership

GT vs CSK: Shubman Gill and B Sai Sudharsan led the Gujarat Titans (GT) to a remarkable victory over the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in a match that left the record books rewritten. The partnership between Gill and Sudharsan not only secured GT’s playoff chances but also dealt a severe blow to CSK’s prospects.

Gill, who briefly left the field due to cramps, and Sudharsan put on a spectacular display of power hitting, setting a new record for the highest opening partnership in IPL history with 210 runs. Their aggressive batting style and ability to adapt to the pitch conditions proved too much for the CSK bowlers to handle.

Despite a valiant effort from CSK’s Daryl Mitchell and Moeen Ali, who both made significant contributions with the bat, GT’s bowlers, led by Tushar Deshpande and Shardul Thakur, managed to contain the CSK batsmen in the final overs.

CSK’s hopes now hang in the balance, with their qualification for the playoffs likely to depend on net run-rates. With tough matches against the Rajasthan Royals and the Royal Challengers Bangalore coming up, CSK will need to regroup quickly if they are to secure a spot in the playoffs.

The match was a testament to the unpredictable nature of T20 cricket, with momentum swinging back and forth throughout the game. While GT will be celebrating their victory, CSK will be left to ponder their missed opportunities as they look to bounce back in their upcoming matches.

GT vs CSK: Full Scorecard

Gujarat Titans  (20 ovs maximum)

Sai Sudharsan c Dube b Deshpande103518457201.96
Shubman Gill (c)c Jadeja b Deshpande104558996189.09
David Miller not out16111610145.45
M Shahrukh Khan run out (Ravindra/Simarjeet Singh)23120066.66
Extras(lb 1, w 5)6
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 11.55)231/3
Did not bat: Matthew Wade †, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Kartik Tyagi 
Fall of wickets: 1-210 (Sai Sudharsan, 17.2 ov), 2-213 (Shubman Gill, 17.6 ov), 3-231 (M Shahrukh Khan, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Santner2031015.5023200
Tushar Deshpande403328.2562120
Shardul Thakur402506.25101100
Simarjeet Singh4060015.0043520
Ravindra Jadeja2029014.5002100
Daryl Mitchell4052013.0024310

Chennai Super Kings  (T: 232 runs from 20 ovs)

Ajinkya Rahane c Tewatia b Sandeep Warrier1560020.00
Rachin Ravindra run out (Miller)1250050.00
Ruturaj Gaikwad (c)c Rashid Khan b Yadav0311000.00
Daryl Mitchell c Shahrukh Khan b Sharma63345673185.29
Moeen Ali c Noor Ahmad b Sharma56365844155.55
Shivam Dube c Noor Ahmad b Sharma21132521161.53
Ravindra Jadeja c Miller b Rashid Khan18101821180.00
MS Dhoni †not out26112013236.36
Mitchell Santner b Rashid Khan021000.00
Shardul Thakur not out34140075.00
Extras(lb 3, w 4)7
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 9.80)196/8
Did not bat: Simarjeet Singh 
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Rachin Ravindra, 0.6 ov), 2-2 (Ajinkya Rahane, 1.1 ov), 3-10 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 2.5 ov), 4-119 (Daryl Mitchell, 12.2 ov), 5-135 (Moeen Ali, 14.2 ov), 6-165 (Shivam Dube, 16.4 ov), 7-169 (Ravindra Jadeja, 17.3 ov), 8-169 (Mitchell Santner, 17.5 ov) • DRS
Umesh Yadav302016.6683000
Sandeep Warrier302819.3381300
Kartik Tyagi4051012.7556220
Noor Ahmad2025012.5030300
Rashid Khan403829.50103300
Mohit Sharma403137.75103120


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here