CSK vs GT: Chennai beat Gujarat by 15 runs to enter the final


CSK vs GT: Chennai Super Kings defeated Gujarat Titans by 15 runs on Tuesday to advance to the IPL 2023 final. CSK will play in their tenth IPL final in 16 iterations of the competition.

 GT captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and chose to bowl first, forcing CSK to reach 172 for 7 in 20 overs with the help of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway. Conway hit 40 off 34 while Gaikwad scored 60 off 44 balls.

Near the end, Ravindra Jadeja hit an important 22 off 16 balls. Mohammed Shami, who had a 2 for 28, was GT’s top bowler.

Shubman Gill (42) appeared to be in good form, but none of the other batters could muster much traction. Rashid Khan (30) eventually made a last-ditch effort before being dismissed. With two wickets each from Deepak Chahar, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahesh Theekshana, and Matheesha Pathirana, Gujarat was eventually bowled out for 157.

GT will get a second chance to secure a final berth, but they will have to wait to play in Qualifier 2 on Friday against the winner of Wednesday’s Eliminator match between Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Mumbai Indians.

CSK will feature in their 10th IPL final (a record) and MS Dhoni will look to end his IPL career on a high.

CSK vs GT: Full Scorecard

Chennai Super Kings  (20 ovs maximum)

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Miller b Sharma60444871136.36
Devon Conway c Rashid Khan b Mohammed Shami40347440117.64
Shivam Dube b Noor Ahmad1340033.33
Ajinkya Rahane c Shubman Gill b Nalkande17101501170.00
Ambati Rayudu c Shanaka b Rashid Khan1791511188.88
Ravindra Jadeja b Mohammed Shami22162520137.50
MS Dhoni (c)†c Pandya b Sharma1240050.00
Moeen Ali not out94701225.00
Extras(b 1, lb 2, nb 2)5
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.60)172/7
Did not bat: Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-87 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 10.3 ov), 2-90 (Shivam Dube, 11.3 ov), 3-121 (Ajinkya Rahane, 14.5 ov), 4-125 (Devon Conway, 15.1 ov), 5-148 (Ambati Rayudu, 17.6 ov), 6-155 (MS Dhoni, 18.5 ov), 7-172 (Ravindra Jadeja, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Mohammed Shami402827.00102101
Darshan Nalkande4044111.0094201
Rashid Khan403719.2552100
Noor Ahmad402917.2563000
Mohit Sharma403127.7543000

Gujarat Titans  (T: 173 runs from 20 ovs)

Wriddhiman Saha †c Pathirana b Chahar12111420109.09
Shubman Gill c Conway b Chahar42385841110.52
Hardik Pandya (c)c Jadeja b Theekshana871210114.28
Dasun Shanaka c Theekshana b Jadeja17161211106.25
David Miller b Jadeja46110066.66
Vijay Shankar c Gaikwad b Pathirana14103001140.00
Rahul Tewatia b Theekshana3580060.00
Rashid Khan c Conway b Deshpande30162632187.50
Darshan Nalkande run out (sub [SP Senapati])011000.00
Noor Ahmad not out751410140.00
Mohammed Shami c Chahar b Pathirana55810100.00
Extras(lb 2, w 13)15
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.85)157
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Wriddhiman Saha, 2.6 ov), 2-41 (Hardik Pandya, 5.5 ov), 3-72 (Dasun Shanaka, 10.3 ov), 4-88 (David Miller, 12.5 ov), 5-88 (Shubman Gill, 13.1 ov), 6-98 (Rahul Tewatia, 14.3 ov), 7-136 (Vijay Shankar, 17.3 ov), 8-136 (Darshan Nalkande, 17.4 ov), 9-142 (Rashid Khan, 18.3 ov), 10-157 (Mohammed Shami, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Deepak Chahar402927.25102130
Tushar Deshpande4043110.75116220
Maheesh Theekshana402827.0081100
Ravindra Jadeja401824.50122000
Matheesha Pathirana403729.2592170

For more IPL news, follow 12betindia.

Also, check out 12cricket.com for the best Cricket news and updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here