MI vs LSG: Mumbai beat Lucknow to reach qualifier 2


MI vs LSG: Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 81 runs in the Eliminator match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Cameron Green and Suryakumar Yadav made sure that MI reached a respectable score of 182, and then a bowling attack led by Akash Madhwal held out LSG to 101 runs.

MI elected to bat first after winning the toss, and despite a slow start, the middle order of the side produced some stunning shots. With some back-to-back wickets, the LSG bowlers came back and slowed down the MI innings.

LSG’s start was comparable to MI’s, and early in the match, as the openers returned to the pavilion. However, no one on the team could contribute much, with the exception of Marcus Stoinis. Opening batsman Prerak Mankad (3) got out in the second over of LSG’s chase of 182, which didn’t go well. Kyle Mayers (18) hit a few boundaries in the following two overs, but Chris Jordan removed him in the fourth over, giving the MI a perfect start.

Marcus Stoinis and skipper Krunal Pandya then assumed control of the chase, but Piyush Chawla had other plans, as he dismissed Krunal Pandya. Ayush Badoni (1) and Nicholas Pooran (0) were both out for one run by Akash Madhwal, who claimed back-to-back wickets.

The pressure on the LSG hitters was maintained by Akash Madhwal and Piyush Chawla, and wickets kept tumbling.

MI vs LSG: Full Scorecard

Mumbai Indians  (20 ovs maximum)

Ishan Kishan †c †Pooran b Yash Thakur15121830125.00
Rohit Sharma (c)c Badoni b Naveen-ul-Haq11101111110.00
Cameron Green b Naveen-ul-Haq41233861178.26
Suryakumar Yadav c Gowtham b Naveen-ul-Haq33202922165.00
Tilak Varma c Hooda b Naveen-ul-Haq26224302118.18
Tim David c Hooda b Yash Thakur13132910100.00
Nehal Wadhera c Ravi Bishnoi b Yash Thakur23122322191.66
Chris Jordan c Hooda b Mohsin Khan4770057.14
Hrithik Shokeen not out016000.00
Extras(b 8, lb 2, w 6)16
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 9.10)182/8
Did not bat: Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal 
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Rohit Sharma, 3.2 ov), 2-38 (Ishan Kishan, 4.2 ov), 3-104 (Suryakumar Yadav, 10.4 ov), 4-105 (Cameron Green, 10.6 ov), 5-148 (Tim David, 16.3 ov), 6-159 (Tilak Varma, 17.3 ov), 7-168 (Chris Jordan, 18.5 ov), 8-182 (Nehal Wadhera, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Krunal Pandya403809.5075100
Krishnappa Gowtham10808.0042000
Yash Thakur403438.50123220
Mohsin Khan302418.0091200
Ravi Bishnoi403007.5041110

Lucknow Super Giants  (T: 183 runs from 20 ovs)

Kyle Mayers c Green b Jordan18131830138.46
Prerak Mankad c Shokeen b Madhwal3690050.00
Krunal Pandya (c)c David b Chawla811351072.72
Marcus Stoinis run out (David/†Ishan Kishan)40274551148.14
Ayush Badoni b Madhwal1760014.28
Nicholas Pooran †c †Ishan Kishan b Madhwal011000.00
Deepak Hooda run out (Green/Madhwal/Sharma)15132601115.38
Krishnappa Gowtham run out (Sharma)2330066.66
Ravi Bishnoi c Jordan b Madhwal3680050.00
Naveen-ul-Haq not out15100020.00
Mohsin Khan b Madhwal078000.00
Extras(b 2, lb 5, w 3)10
TOTAL16.3 Ov (RR: 6.12)101
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Prerak Mankad, 1.5 ov), 2-23 (Kyle Mayers, 3.2 ov), 3-69 (Krunal Pandya, 8.2 ov), 4-74 (Ayush Badoni, 9.4 ov), 5-74 (Nicholas Pooran, 9.5 ov), 6-89 (Marcus Stoinis, 11.5 ov), 7-92 (Krishnappa Gowtham, 12.3 ov), 8-100 (Ravi Bishnoi, 14.3 ov), 9-100 (Deepak Hooda, 14.5 ov), 10-101 (Mohsin Khan, 16.3 ov) • DRS
Jason Behrendorff302107.0073000
Akash Madhwal3.30551.42170000
Chris Jordan21713.5091000
Cameron Green301505.0071000
Hrithik Shokeen1018018.0012110
Piyush Chawla402817.0092120

For more IPL news, follow 12betindia.

Also, check out 12cricket.com for the best Cricket news and updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here