Who won the first purple cap in IPL?

Who won the first purple cap in IPL?

Who won the first purple cap in IPL? The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular and competitive cricket tournaments in the world. It features some of the best players from different countries, who showcase their skills and talent in the shortest format of the game. The IPL also rewards the outstanding performers in various categories, such as the highest run-scorer, the most valuable player, and the highest wicket-taker. The highest wicket-taker in each season of the IPL is awarded the Purple Cap, which is a symbol of excellence and dominance in bowling.

Do you know Who won the first purple cap in IPL?

The Purple Cap was introduced in the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008, and since then, it has been conferred to many different bowlers from various teams. The first-ever purple cap winner was Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir, playing for Rajasthan Royals in 2008. Tanvir was a revelation in the first season, as he bamboozled the batsmen with his unorthodox left-arm action and variations. He took 22 wickets in 11 matches, at an average of 12.09 and an economy rate of 6.46. Tanvir helped Rajasthan Royals win the title in 2008, under the captaincy of Shane Warne.

Who won the first purple cap in IPL?
Who won the first purple cap in IPL? 2

Since Tanvir, many other bowlers have won the Purple Cap in the subsequent seasons of the IPL. Some of the notable names include Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel, Dwayne Bravo, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Imran Tahir, and Kagiso Rabada. Among them, Bravo and Kumar are the only bowlers to have won the Purple Cap twice, in 2013 and 2015, and in 2016 and 2017, respectively. The current purple cap holder is Mohammed Shami, who took 28 wickets in 17 matches for Gujarat Titans in 2023.


I hope you now know Who won the first purple cap in IPL? The Purple Cap is a prestigious award that every bowler in the IPL aspires to win. It is a testament to the skill, consistency, and impact of the bowler in the tournament. The Purple Cap also reflects the diversity and quality of bowling in the IPL, as it has been won by bowlers from different countries, playing for different teams, and using different styles and techniques. The Purple Cap is not only a reward for the individual bowler, but also a recognition for the team and the fans who support them.

Who will win the Purple Cap in IPL 2024? Comment and let us know. Follow 12cricket.com for all the latest news and updates from IPL 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here