What is the prize money for Orange Cap?

What is the prize money for Orange Cap?

What is the prize money for Orange Cap? The Indian Premier League (IPL) is not only a battle between the teams, but also between the individual players who compete for various awards and accolades. One of the most coveted awards is the Orange Cap, which is given to the batsman who scores the most runs in a season.

What is the Orange Cap in IPL?

The Orange Cap was introduced in 2008, a week after the inaugural edition of the IPL began. The idea was to honour the leading run-scorer and to encourage the batsmen to perform better. The Orange Cap is worn by the current holder during the matches, and is passed on to the next highest scorer at the end of each match. At the end of the season, the final holder of the Orange Cap is awarded with a trophy and a cash prize.

The Orange Cap has been won by some of the best batsmen in the world, such as Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle, David Warner, and Virat Kohli. The current holder of the Orange Cap is Shubman Gill, who scored 890 runs in 17 matches for the Gujarat Titans in the 2023 season. He also scored three centuries and four fifties, and hit the most fours (85) and sixes (33) in the season.

What is the prize money for Orange Cap?

The winner of the Orange Cap in the IPL 2023 season received a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh (US$18,000), along with the trophy. The same amount was also given to the winner of the Purple Cap, which is awarded to the bowler who takes the most wickets in a season. The Purple Cap was won by Mohammad Shami, who took 28 wickets in 16 matches for the Punjab Kings in the 2023 season.

The Orange Cap and the Purple Cap are two of the most prestigious awards in the IPL, and they reflect the skill and consistency of the players who win them. They also add an extra dimension of excitement and competition to the tournament, as the players try to outscore and outwit each other. The IPL 2024 season is expected to start in March and end in May, and the fans will be eagerly waiting to see who will wear the Orange Cap and the Purple Cap next.

Follow 12cricket.com for more interesting news like this.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here