SA vs Ind: India beat South Africa in the Shortest Test Match Ever

SA vs Ind: India beat South Africa in the Shortest Test Match Ever

SA vs IND: India have won the third and final Test against South Africa by seven wickets in Cape Town, in what was the shortest Test match ever to produce a result.

The match lasted only a day and a half and 642 balls, breaking the previous record of 656 balls set by Australia’s win over South Africa in Melbourne in 1932.

The visitors chased down the target of 79 runs in just 12 overs, with Shreyas Iyer hitting the winning boundary in the second session on day two.

India’s victory levelled the series at 1-1, denying South Africa a farewell win for their retiring captain Dean Elgar, who played his 86th and final Test.

The match was dominated by India’s pace attack, led by Jasprit Bumrah, who took six wickets in the second innings as South Africa were dismissed for 176.

The only bright spot for the hosts was Aiden Markram’s brilliant 106 off 103 balls, his seventh Test hundred and his first at home.

South Africa had earlier been skittled out for 55 on the first day.

India fared slightly better in their first innings, reaching 153 all out, thanks to a gritty 46 by Virat Kohli.

In their chase, India showed no signs of nerves as they raced towards the target, with opener Yashasvi Jaiswal smashing 28 off 23 balls.Despite losing him, Gill and Kohli, India cruised to a historic win.

The result means that India are yet to win a test series in South Africa. This was also India’s first ever test win at Cape Town

SA vs IND: Full Scorecard

South Africa 1st Innings 

Aiden Markram c Jaiswal b Mohammed Siraj210140020.00
Dean Elgar (c)b Mohammed Siraj415250026.66
Tony de Zorzi c †Rahul b Mohammed Siraj217300011.76
Tristan Stubbs c Sharma b Bumrah311140027.27
David Bedingham c Jaiswal b Mohammed Siraj1217332070.58
Kyle Verreynne †c Shubman Gill b Mohammed Siraj1530431050.00
Marco Jansen c †Rahul b Mohammed Siraj032000.00
Keshav Maharaj c Bumrah b Mukesh Kumar313200023.07
Kagiso Rabada c Iyer b Mukesh Kumar513260038.46
Nandre Burger c Jaiswal b Bumrah411131036.36
Lungi Ngidi not out00100
Extras(b 4, lb 1)5
TOTAL23.2 Ov (RR: 2.35)55
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Aiden Markram, 3.2 ov), 2-8 (Dean Elgar, 5.3 ov), 3-11 (Tristan Stubbs, 8.3 ov), 4-15 (Tony de Zorzi, 9.2 ov), 5-34 (David Bedingham, 15.2 ov), 6-34 (Marco Jansen, 15.5 ov), 7-45 (Kyle Verreynne, 17.5 ov), 8-46 (Keshav Maharaj, 19.6 ov), 9-55 (Nandre Burger, 22.6 ov), 10-55 (Kagiso Rabada, 23.2 ov) • DRS
Jasprit Bumrah812523.1200
Mohammed Siraj931561.6600
Prasidh Krishna411002.5000
Mukesh Kumar2.22020.0000

India 1st Innings 

Yashasvi Jaiswal b Rabada0710000.00
Rohit Sharma (c)c Jansen b Burger3950687078.00
Shubman Gill c Jansen b Burger3655875065.45
Virat Kohli c Markram b Rabada46591036177.96
Shreyas Iyer c †Verreynne b Burger026000.00
KL Rahul †c †Verreynne b Ngidi833511024.24
Ravindra Jadeja c Jansen b Ngidi021000.00
Jasprit Bumrah c Jansen b Ngidi021000.00
Mohammed Siraj run out (Burger)0112000.00
Prasidh Krishna c Markram b Rabada038000.00
Mukesh Kumar not out00100
Extras(b 4, lb 10, nb 5, w 5)24
TOTAL34.5 Ov (RR: 4.39)153
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 2.1 ov), 2-72 (Rohit Sharma, 14.2 ov), 3-105 (Shubman Gill, 20.6 ov), 4-110 (Shreyas Iyer, 22.2 ov), 5-153 (KL Rahul, 33.1 ov), 6-153 (Ravindra Jadeja, 33.3 ov), 7-153 (Jasprit Bumrah, 33.5 ov), 8-153 (Virat Kohli, 34.2 ov), 9-153 (Mohammed Siraj, 34.4 ov), 10-153 (Prasidh Krishna, 34.5 ov) • DRS
Kagiso Rabada11.523833.2110
Lungi Ngidi613035.0003
Nandre Burger824235.2500
Marco Jansen922903.2202

South Africa 2nd Innings 

Aiden Markram c Sharma b Mohammed Siraj106103164172102.91
Dean Elgar (c)c Kohli b Mukesh Kumar1228412042.85
Tony de Zorzi c †Rahul b Mukesh Kumar1780014.28
Tristan Stubbs c †Rahul b Bumrah11414007.14
David Bedingham c †Rahul b Bumrah1112132091.66
Kyle Verreynne †c Mohammed Siraj b Bumrah972210128.57
Marco Jansen c & b Bumrah1191220122.22
Keshav Maharaj c Iyer b Bumrah3480075.00
Kagiso Rabada c Sharma b Prasidh Krishna212390016.66
Nandre Burger not out620251030.00
Lungi Ngidi c Jaiswal b Bumrah810220080.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 5)6
TOTAL36.5 Ov (RR: 4.77)176
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Dean Elgar, 10.2 ov), 2-41 (Tony de Zorzi, 12.1 ov), 3-45 (Tristan Stubbs, 15.2 ov), 4-66 (David Bedingham, 17.6 ov), 5-85 (Kyle Verreynne, 21.1 ov), 6-103 (Marco Jansen, 23.5 ov), 7-111 (Keshav Maharaj, 25.2 ov), 8-162 (Aiden Markram, 31.4 ov), 9-162 (Kagiso Rabada, 32.1 ov), 10-176 (Lungi Ngidi, 36.5 ov) • DRS
Jasprit Bumrah13.506164.4001
Mohammed Siraj933113.4400
Mukesh Kumar1025625.6004
Prasidh Krishna412716.7500

India 2nd Innings (T: 79 runs)

Yashasvi Jaiswal c Stubbs b Burger28232560121.73
Rohit Sharma (c)not out1622572072.72
Shubman Gill b Rabada1011122090.90
Virat Kohli c †Verreynne b Jansen12111320109.09
Shreyas Iyer not out4641066.66
Extras(b 1, lb 2, nb 1, w 6)10
TOTAL12 Ov (RR: 6.66)80/3
Did not bat: KL Rahul †, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Mukesh Kumar 
Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 5.4 ov), 2-57 (Shubman Gill, 8.3 ov), 3-75 (Virat Kohli, 11.1 ov) • DRS
Kagiso Rabada603315.5000
Nandre Burger402917.2510
Marco Jansen201517.5011

Follow for all the latest news and updates for the Indian Cricket Team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here