RCB vs CSK: RCB Knocks Out CSK to Secure Playoff Spot

RCB vs CSK: RCB Knocks Out CSK to Secure Playoff Spot

RCB vs CSK: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) scripted a remarkable comeback story in the Indian Premier League (IPL) league stage, securing their spot in the playoffs with a thrilling 27-run victory over Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at home. This win marked RCB’s sixth consecutive victory, propelling them into the playoff stage and ending CSK’s hopes in a dramatic showdown.

After winning the toss, CSK opted to bowl first, aiming to restrict RCB’s batting lineup. However, RCB’s opening pair of Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis had other plans, smashing 31 runs in three overs before rain interrupted play. Despite the break, RCB’s momentum remained intact as they continued to score aggressively.

Kohli and Du Plessis laid a solid foundation, followed by partnerships between Rajat Patidar and Cameron Green, who defied CSK’s spinners with aggressive strokes. RCB’s senior batters orchestrated crucial stands, with Patidar and Green’s blazing 71-run partnership coming in just 28 balls, setting the stage for a formidable total.

In response, CSK faced a daunting task, needing to chase down a target of at least 201 runs to secure a playoff spot. While Rachin Ravindra and Ajinkya Rahane’s partnership seemed promising, RCB’s bowlers kept the pressure on. Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni attempted to steer CSK towards victory, but the task proved too steep.

As the match entered its final over, CSK required 17 runs to qualify, with Yash Dayal entrusted with the crucial over. Dhoni’s six off the first ball raised hopes, but his subsequent dismissal and Dayal’s composed bowling restricted CSK to just one more run, sealing RCB’s victory and playoff berth in a thrilling climax.

RCB vs CSK: Full Scorecard

Royal Challengers Bengaluru  (20 ovs maximum)

Virat Kohli c Mitchell b Santner47293934162.06
Faf du Plessis (c)run out (Santner)54395433138.46
Rajat Patidar c Mitchell b Thakur41234524178.26
Cameron Green not out38174533223.52
Dinesh Karthik †c †Dhoni b Deshpande146811233.33
Glenn Maxwell c †Dhoni b Thakur165521320.00
Mahipal Lomror not out011000.00
Extras(lb 1, w 7)8
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.90)218/5
Did not bat: Yash Dayal, Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson 
Fall of wickets: 1-78 (Virat Kohli, 9.4 ov), 2-113 (Faf du Plessis, 12.6 ov), 3-184 (Rajat Patidar, 17.4 ov), 4-201 (Dinesh Karthik, 18.5 ov), 5-218 (Glenn Maxwell, 19.5 ov) • DRS
Tushar Deshpande4049112.25102540
Shardul Thakur4061215.2555500
Maheesh Theekshana402506.25112110
Mitchell Santner402315.75101100
Ravindra Jadeja3040013.3322300
Simarjeet Singh1019019.0002120

Chennai Super Kings  (T: 219 runs from 20 ovs)

Ruturaj Gaikwad (c)c Yash Dayal b Maxwell011000.00
Rachin Ravindra run out (Swapnil Singh/†Karthik)61376353164.86
Daryl Mitchell c Kohli b Yash Dayal46110066.66
Ajinkya Rahane c du Plessis b Ferguson33223231150.00
Shivam Dube c Ferguson b Green715200046.66
Ravindra Jadeja not out42224233190.90
Mitchell Santner c du Plessis b Mohammed Siraj3470075.00
MS Dhoni †c Swapnil Singh b Yash Dayal25132531192.30
Shardul Thakur not out1230050.00
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 2, w 8)15
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 9.55)191/7
Did not bat: Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 0.1 ov), 2-19 (Daryl Mitchell, 2.2 ov), 3-85 (Ajinkya Rahane, 9.1 ov), 4-115 (Rachin Ravindra, 12.6 ov), 5-119 (Shivam Dube, 13.4 ov), 6-129 (Mitchell Santner, 14.6 ov), 7-190 (MS Dhoni, 19.2 ov) • DRS
Glenn Maxwell402516.2571010
Mohammed Siraj403518.7573110
Yash Dayal4042210.5094300
Swapnil Singh201306.5010010
Karn Sharma1014014.0001100
Lockie Ferguson3039113.0063302
Cameron Green201819.0032010


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here