MI vs RR: Rajasthan Royals Crush Mumbai Indians in IPL Clash

MI vs RR

MI vs RR: Rajasthan Royals (RR) chased down a target of 126 against Mumbai Indians (MI) with ease, winning by six wickets with 27 balls to spare. Riyan Parag was the hero for RR, scoring an unbeaten 54 off 39 balls to guide his team to victory.

The match saw a spirited opening spell from Jasprit Bumrah and South African teenager Kwena Maphaka, who got his first ever IPL wicket by dismissing Yashasvi Jaiswal in the first over. Bumrah kept the pressure on the batters but couldn’t pick up a wicket in the powerplay. Aakash Madhwal then took charge, claiming the big wickets of Sanju Samson and Jos Buttler. He later added Ravichandran Ashwin to his list of scalps, but by then, Parag had taken the game away from MI.

Earlier, MI struggled against RR’s bowling attack, with Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal wreaking havoc. Boult dismantled MI’s top order in the powerplay, while Chahal stifled the middle order. Captain Hardik Pandya provided some resistance, scoring 34 off 21 balls, but MI could only manage a total of 125/9.

The crowd at the Wankhede Stadium made their feelings clear with resounding boos for Pandya at the toss, which RR’s Sanju Samson won, choosing to bowl first. Boult’s early strikes, including the dismissals of Rohit Sharma, Naman Dhir, and Dewald Brevis for golden ducks, put MI on the back foot.

Despite a brief partnership between Pandya and Tilak Varma, who scored 34 off 21 balls, MI never looked like posting a competitive total. Chahal’s three wickets in the death overs further dented MI’s hopes, and Tim David’s slow innings of 17 off 24 balls added to their woes.

With this victory, RR notched up their second win of the season, while MI suffered their third loss. RR will look to build on this momentum in their upcoming matches, while MI will be eager to bounce back from this defeat.

Join the winning team – 12BET is your playbook for success in sports betting!

MI vs RR: Full Scorecard

Mumbai Indians  (20 ovs maximum)

Ishan Kishan †c †Samson b Burger16142221114.28
Rohit Sharma c †Samson b Boult014000.00
Naman Dhir lbw b Boult012000.00
Dewald Brevis c Burger b Boult018000.00
Tilak Varma c Ashwin b Chahal32295502110.34
Hardik Pandya (c)c sub (R Powell) b Chahal34212760161.90
Piyush Chawla c Hetmyer b Avesh Khan3690050.00
Tim David c Boult b Burger1724351070.83
Gerald Coetzee c Hetmyer b Chahal49140044.44
Jasprit Bumrah not out89171088.88
Akash Madhwal not out4560080.00
Extras(b 1, lb 2, w 4)7
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 6.25)125/9
Did not bat: Kwena Maphaka 
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Rohit Sharma, 0.5 ov), 2-1 (Naman Dhir, 0.6 ov), 3-14 (Dewald Brevis, 2.2 ov), 4-20 (Ishan Kishan, 3.3 ov), 5-76 (Hardik Pandya, 9.3 ov), 6-83 (Piyush Chawla, 11.1 ov), 7-95 (Tilak Varma, 13.2 ov), 8-111 (Gerald Coetzee, 16.3 ov), 9-114 (Tim David, 18.3 ov) • DRS
Trent Boult402235.50141110
Nandre Burger403228.00155110
Avesh Khan403017.50102110
Yuzvendra Chahal401132.75161000
Ravichandran Ashwin402706.7561010

Rajasthan Royals  (T: 126 runs from 20 ovs)

Yashasvi Jaiswal c David b Maphaka106420166.66
Jos Buttler c Chawla b Madhwal1316372081.25
Sanju Samson (c)†b Madhwal12101930120.00
Riyan Parag not out54395453138.46
Ravichandran Ashwin c Tilak Varma b Madhwal16162610100.00
Shubham Dubey not out861510133.33
Extras(b 2, lb 2, w 10)14
TOTAL15.3 Ov (RR: 8.19)127/4
Did not bat: Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Nandre Burger 
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 0.6 ov), 2-42 (Sanju Samson, 4.2 ov), 3-48 (Jos Buttler, 6.3 ov), 4-88 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 12.2 ov) • DRS
Kwena Maphaka2023111.5055000
Jasprit Bumrah402606.50163050
Akash Madhwal402035.0091010
Gerald Coetzee2.3036014.4055200
Piyush Chawla301806.0060100


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here