MI vs PBKS: Mumbai Indians Seal Nail-biter Against Punjab Kings


MI vs PBKS: Mumbai Indians emerged victorious by a narrow margin of nine runs against the Punjab Kings in a match that swung dramatically back and forth.

Batting first, the Mumbai Indians posted a challenging total of 192/7 in their allotted 20 overs, courtesy of a scintillating knock from Suryakumar Yadav. Yadav played a crucial innings, scoring 78 runs off 53 deliveries, anchoring the Mumbai innings with his impeccable stroke play. He formed crucial partnerships, including an 81-run stand with skipper Rohit Sharma and a blistering 49-run partnership with Tilak Varma.

In response, the Punjab Kings were rocked early by the fiery pace duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Gerald Coetzee, losing their top five batsmen within the first 10 overs. However, a spirited fightback led by Shashank Singh and later Ashutosh Sharma revived their hopes. Sharma’s explosive innings of 61 runs off just 28 balls brought the Kings back into contention, despite being seven wickets down.

As the match approached its climax, the Punjab Kings found themselves needing 12 runs to win off the final over with just one wicket in hand. However, a crucial run-out on the second ball of the over dashed their hopes, handing the Mumbai Indians a hard-fought victory by nine runs.

Notably, Sam Curran continued to lead the Punjab Kings in the absence of regular captain Shikhar Dhawan. Opting to bowl first after winning the toss, Curran and his team were unable to contain the Mumbai batting lineup, ultimately falling short in their chase despite a valiant effort.

Score big with 12BET! Join today and turn your passion for sports into winnings!

MI vs PBKS: Full Scorecard

Mumbai Indians  (20 ovs maximum)

Ishan Kishan †c Harpreet Brar b Rabada88910100.00
Rohit Sharma c Harpreet Brar b Curran36255523144.00
Suryakumar Yadav c Prabhsimran Singh b Curran78537473147.16
Tilak Varma not out34185122188.88
Hardik Pandya (c)c Harpreet Brar b Patel106701166.66
Tim David c Curran b Patel1471021200.00
Romario Shepherd c Shashank Singh b Patel1230050.00
Mohammad Nabi run out (Patel)011000.00
Extras(b 1, lb 5, w 5)11
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 9.60)192/7
Did not bat: Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal, Jasprit Bumrah 
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Ishan Kishan, 2.1 ov), 2-99 (Rohit Sharma, 11.4 ov), 3-148 (Suryakumar Yadav, 16.2 ov), 4-167 (Hardik Pandya, 17.6 ov), 5-190 (Tim David, 19.2 ov), 6-192 (Romario Shepherd, 19.5 ov), 7-192 (Mohammad Nabi, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Liam Livingstone201608.0041100
Arshdeep Singh3035011.6645110
Kagiso Rabada4042110.5073300
Harshal Patel403137.7591220
Sam Curran4041210.25103320
Harpreet Brar302107.0031000

Punjab Kings  (T: 193 runs from 20 ovs)

Sam Curran (c)c †Ishan Kishan b Bumrah67111085.71
Prabhsimran Singh c †Ishan Kishan b Coetzee013000.00
Rilee Rossouw b Bumrah1350033.33
Liam Livingstone c & b Coetzee1240050.00
Harpreet Singh c & b Gopal1315232086.66
Shashank Singh c Tilak Varma b Bumrah41255223164.00
Jitesh Sharma †lbw b Madhwal991510100.00
Ashutosh Sharma c Mohammad Nabi b Coetzee61284227217.85
Harpreet Brar c Mohammad Nabi b Pandya21203821105.00
Harshal Patel not out14150025.00
Kagiso Rabada run out (Mohammad Nabi/†Ishan Kishan)83501266.66
Extras(lb 5, nb 2, w 14)21
TOTAL19.1 Ov (RR: 9.54)183
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Prabhsimran Singh, 0.3 ov), 2-13 (Rilee Rossouw, 1.4 ov), 3-14 (Sam Curran, 1.6 ov), 4-14 (Liam Livingstone, 2.1 ov), 5-49 (Harpreet Singh, 6.5 ov), 6-77 (Jitesh Sharma, 9.2 ov), 7-111 (Shashank Singh, 12.1 ov), 8-168 (Ashutosh Sharma, 17.1 ov), 9-174 (Harpreet Brar, 18.4 ov), 10-183 (Kagiso Rabada, 19.1 ov) • DRS
Gerald Coetzee403238.00135020
Jasprit Bumrah402135.25131111
Akash Madhwal3.1046114.5272441
Hardik Pandya403318.2591230
Shreyas Gopal2026113.0010300
Romario Shepherd2020010.0061200


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here