MI vs GT: Hardik Pandya’s Captaincy Debut Ends in Defeat

MI vs GT

MI vs GT: Mumbai Indians suffered a disappointing start to their IPL campaign, losing their opening match for the 12th consecutive time. The match, played in Ahmedabad, saw Hardik Pandya’s debut as captain end in a six-run loss amidst constant booing from the crowd.

Chasing a target of 169, Mumbai Indians needed 19 runs off the last over. Pandya, who was on strike, started the over with a six and a four off the first two balls. However, Umesh Yadav’s comeback with the ball proved crucial as he dismissed Pandya and another batsman in quick succession, leaving Mumbai Indians struggling to recover.

Earlier in the match, Mumbai Indians had won the toss and elected to bowl first. Despite a strong start by Gujarat Titans, led by captain Shubman Gill’s 31 off 22 balls, Mumbai Indians managed to restrict them to 168/6. Jasprit Bumrah was the standout bowler for Mumbai Indians, taking crucial wickets with his trademark yorkers.

In response, Mumbai Indians’ chase was led by Rohit Sharma and Dewald Brevis, who put on a strong partnership. However, Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma’s tight bowling in the middle overs slowed down Mumbai Indians’ progress. Brevis fell for 46 off 38 balls, and despite Rohit Sharma’s 43 off 29 balls, Mumbai Indians failed to recover from the setback.

The match marked a memorable debut for Gujarat Titans’ captain Shubman Gill, who led his team to victory in his first match as captain. Sai Sudharsan’s contribution of 45 off 39 balls, along with valuable knocks from Azmatullah Omarzai and David Miller, ensured Gujarat Titans’ victory.

Overall, it was a disappointing start for Mumbai Indians, who will be looking to bounce back in their upcoming matches.

MI vs GT: Full Scorecard

Gujarat Titans  (20 ovs maximum)

Wriddhiman Saha †b Bumrah19151840126.66
Shubman Gill (c)c Sharma b Chawla31223531140.90
Sai Sudharsan c Tilak Varma b Bumrah45395831115.38
Azmatullah Omarzai c Tilak Varma b Coetzee17111711154.54
David Miller c Pandya b Bumrah12112110109.09
Vijay Shankar not out652300120.00
Rahul Tewatia c Naman Dhir b Coetzee22151521146.66
Rashid Khan not out43400133.33
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 7)12
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.40)168/6
Did not bat: Umesh Yadav, Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson 
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Wriddhiman Saha, 3.6 ov), 2-64 (Shubman Gill, 7.4 ov), 3-104 (Azmatullah Omarzai, 11.6 ov), 4-133 (David Miller, 16.1 ov), 5-134 (Sai Sudharsan, 16.3 ov), 6-161 (Rahul Tewatia, 19.1 ov) • DRS
Hardik Pandya3030010.0055000
Luke Wood2025012.5043111
Jasprit Bumrah401433.50141000
Shams Mulani302408.0061110
Piyush Chawla3031110.3340210
Naman Dhir1013013.0002000
Gerald Coetzee402726.7572000

Mumbai Indians  (T: 169 runs from 20 ovs)

Ishan Kishan †c †Saha b Azmatullah Omarzai042000.00
Rohit Sharma lbw b Sai Kishore43295771148.27
Naman Dhir lbw b Azmatullah Omarzai20101331200.00
Dewald Brevis c & b Sharma46385823121.05
Tilak Varma c sub (A Manohar) b Johnson25193311131.57
Tim David c Miller b Sharma11101210110.00
Hardik Pandya (c)c Tewatia b Yadav114911275.00
Gerald Coetzee c & b Johnson1330033.33
Shams Mulani not out11600100.00
Piyush Chawla c Rashid Khan b Yadav011000.00
Jasprit Bumrah not out11100100.00
Extras(w 3)3
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.10)162/9
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ishan Kishan, 0.4 ov), 2-30 (Naman Dhir, 2.6 ov), 3-107 (Rohit Sharma, 12.1 ov), 4-129 (Dewald Brevis, 15.5 ov), 5-142 (Tim David, 17.6 ov), 6-148 (Tilak Varma, 18.2 ov), 7-150 (Gerald Coetzee, 18.6 ov), 8-160 (Hardik Pandya, 19.3 ov), 9-160 (Piyush Chawla, 19.4 ov) • DRS
Azmatullah Omarzai302729.00104120
Umesh Yadav3031210.3394200
Rashid Khan402305.75111100
Sai Kishore402416.0091100
Spencer Johnson2025212.5032200
Mohit Sharma403228.0073010

Follow 12cricket.com for the latest news and updates from IPL 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here