MI vs DC: Jasprit Bumrah Reaches 150 Wickets as Mumbai Indians Secure First Win

MI vs DC

MI vs DC: Jasprit Bumrah‘s milestone performance propelled Mumbai Indians to their first victory in the Indian Premier League 2024. Despite a valiant effort from Tristan Stubbs, Delhi Capitals fell short by 29 runs in Match No. 20.

The match began with Mumbai’s Rohit Sharma falling just short of his first half-century in the tournament, dismissed for 49 by Axar Patel. Anrich Nortje then struck a crucial blow by removing Suryakumar Yadav, making a strong comeback after the MI openers dominated the powerplay.

Axar Patel continued to shine, taking a stunning one-handed catch to dismiss Ishan Kishan for 42. Hardik Pandya’s brisk 39 and Tim David’s explosive hitting, supported by Romario Shepherd’s incredible display in the final over, powered Mumbai to a formidable total of 234/5.

In response, Delhi Capitals fought hard, with Prithvi Shaw (66), Abishek Porel (41), and Tristan Stubbs (71) leading the charge. However, they could only manage 205/8 in their 20 overs, falling short of the target.

The highlight of the match was Jasprit Bumrah’s achievement of reaching 150 wickets in the IPL, becoming a key figure in Mumbai’s victory. With this win, Mumbai Indians, under the leadership of Hardik Pandya, are looking to turn their fortunes around after a slow start in the tournament. They currently sit in 8th place in the IPL 2024 standings, while Delhi Capitals find themselves at the bottom of the table.

MI vs DC: Full Scorecard

Mumbai Indians  (20 ovs maximum)

Rohit Sharma b Patel49273063181.48
Ishan Kishan †c & b Patel42234542182.60
Suryakumar Yadav c sub (J Fraser-McGurk) b Nortje022000.00
Hardik Pandya (c)c sub (J Fraser-McGurk) b Nortje39335131118.18
Tilak Varma c Patel b Ahmed65910120.00
Tim David not out45214224214.28
Romario Shepherd not out39101334390.00
Extras(nb 1, w 13)14
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 11.70)234/5
Did not bat: Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Akash Madhwal 
Fall of wickets: 1-80 (Rohit Sharma, 6.6 ov), 2-81 (Suryakumar Yadav, 7.3 ov), 3-111 (Ishan Kishan, 10.2 ov), 4-121 (Tilak Varma, 12.4 ov), 5-181 (Hardik Pandya, 17.5 ov) • DRS
Khaleel Ahmed403919.7583200
Ishant Sharma3040013.3354140
Jhye Richardson4040010.0082310
Axar Patel403528.7583200
Lalit Yadav1015015.0013000
Anrich Nortje4065216.2574631

Delhi Capitals  (T: 235 runs from 20 ovs)

Prithvi Shaw b Bumrah66405383165.00
David Warner c Pandya b Shepherd1081511125.00
Abishek Porel c David b Bumrah41315050132.25
Tristan Stubbs not out71254237284.00
Rishabh Pant (c)†c Pandya b Coetzee1360033.33
Axar Patel run out (Mohammad Nabi/†Ishan Kishan)871410114.28
Lalit Yadav c †Ishan Kishan b Coetzee3440075.00
Kumar Kushagra c Tilak Varma b Coetzee011000.00
Jhye Richardson c Sharma b Coetzee22100100.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 1)3
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.25)205/8
Did not bat: Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma 
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (David Warner, 3.4 ov), 2-110 (Prithvi Shaw, 11.5 ov), 3-144 (Abishek Porel, 14.6 ov), 4-153 (Rishabh Pant, 15.6 ov), 5-194 (Axar Patel, 18.4 ov), 6-203 (Lalit Yadav, 19.3 ov), 7-203 (Kumar Kushagra, 19.4 ov), 8-205 (Jhye Richardson, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Gerald Coetzee403448.50113200
Jasprit Bumrah402225.50113000
Akash Madhwal4045011.2597101
Romario Shepherd4054113.5043410
Mohammad Nabi201708.5010100
Piyush Chawla2032016.0022300


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here