IPL teams that have never won the Trophy

IPL teams that have never won the Trophy

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular and entertaining cricket leagues in the world, having fans all over the globe. Since its inception in 2008, the tournament has witnessed 13 editions, with six different teams lifting the coveted trophy. However, there are three IPL teams that have never won the trophy even though they have been part of the league since the beginning. They are Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS), and Delhi Capitals (DC).

1.    Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

RCB is arguably one of the most star-studded teams in the IPL, with legendary players like Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers in their ranks. However, despite their formidable batting line-up, they have failed to deliver when it matters the most. They have reached the finals thrice, but ended up as runners-up on each occasion. They lost to Deccan Chargers in 2009, Chennai Super Kings in 2011 and Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016. They also hold the record for both the highest and lowest totals in the IPL, scoring 263/5 against Pune Warriors India in 2013 and getting bowled out for 49 against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2017. RCB fans are still hoping that their team will break the jinx and win their maiden title soon.

2.     Punjab Kings (PBKS)

PBKS, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, is another IPL teams that have never won the trophy They have made only two playoff appearances in 13 seasons, reaching the final once in 2014. They came agonizingly close to winning their first title, but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders by three wickets in a thrilling chase. Since then, they have struggled to find consistency and finish in the top half of the table. They have also made some expensive purchases in the auctions, such as Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell and Jhye Richardson, but none of them have lived up to their expectations. PBKS fans are hoping that their team will turn things around and surprise everyone with a stellar performance.

3.     Delhi Capitals (DC)

DC, formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, is the third team that has never won the IPL title. They have been one of the most inconsistent and underperforming teams in the league, failing to reach the playoffs several times but never winning when it matters. However, they have shown signs of improvement in recent years, reaching the playoffs in 2019 and 2020. They also made their maiden final appearance in 2020 but lost to Mumbai Indians by five wickets. DC has a young and talented squad, led by Rishabh Pant and coached by Ricky Ponting. They also have some experienced players like David Warner, Manish Pandey, and Mitch Marsh. DC fans are optimistic that their team will continue their upward trajectory and clinch their first title soon.

These are the three IPL teams that have never won the trophy till now. They have had their share of highs and lows, but they have also shown resilience and determination to bounce back from setbacks. They will be eager to prove themselves and end their drought in the upcoming editions of the IPL.

For more IPL news, follow 12betindia.

Also check out 12cricket.com for the best Cricket news and updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here