India vs USA: India Overcome USA Scare to Reach Super 8

India vs USA: India Overcome USA Scare to Reach Super 8

India vs USA: Cricket fans in the United States were buzzing after their national team’s historic upset against Pakistan. However, their dream run came to an end as India secured a hard-fought victory in Match 25 of the T20 World Cup 2024.

Arshdeep Singh Makes History:

Young pacer Arshdeep Singh stole the show for India, claiming the first wicket on the very first ball of his opening over against USA. This feat makes him the first Indian bowler to achieve this in an ICC World T20 match. Arshdeep continued his dominance, dismissing Andries Gous later in the over. The USA, missing their captain Monank Patel, struggled to cope with India’s bowling attack, recording their lowest powerplay score against them in the tournament.

Combined Effort Secures Victory:

Arshdeep, along with the experienced Jasprit Bumrah, restricted the USA to a manageable total of 110/8. Chasing the target, India faced a scare as Mumbai-born pacer Saurabh Netravalkar dismissed both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli cheaply.

Suryakumar Yadav Saves the Day:

Suryakumar Yadav, currently ranked the No. 1 T20I batsman, steadied the Indian ship with a crucial half-century (50*). Rishabh Pant also chipped in with valuable runs before Shivam Dube (31*) finished the chase in style, securing a 7-wicket win for India in 18.2 overs. This victory propels them into the Super 8 stage of the T20 World Cup.

India vs USA: Full Scorecard

United States of America  (20 ovs maximum)

Shayan Jahangir lbw b Arshdeep Singh011000.00
Steven Taylor b Patel2430570280.00
Andries Gous †c Pandya b Arshdeep Singh2540040.00
Aaron Jones (c)c Mohammed Siraj b Pandya1122290150.00
Nitish Kumar c Mohammed Siraj b Arshdeep Singh27233321117.39
Corey Anderson c †Pant b Pandya15122511125.00
Harmeet Singh c †Pant b Arshdeep Singh10101601100.00
Shadley van Schalkwyk not out11101510110.00
Jasdeep Singh run out (†Pant/Mohammed Siraj)27110028.57
Extras(lb 1, w 7)8
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 5.50)110/8
Did not bat: Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Shayan Jahangir, 0.1 ov), 2-3 (Andries Gous, 0.6 ov), 3-25 (Aaron Jones, 7.2 ov), 4-56 (Steven Taylor, 11.4 ov), 5-81 (Nitish Kumar, 14.4 ov), 6-96 (Corey Anderson, 16.5 ov), 7-98 (Harmeet Singh, 17.3 ov), 8-110 (Jasdeep Singh, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Arshdeep Singh40942.25170010
Mohammed Siraj402506.25111100
Jasprit Bumrah402506.25141110
Hardik Pandya411423.50191100
Shivam Dube1011011.0031100
Axar Patel302518.3350210

India  (T: 111 runs from 20 ovs)

Rohit Sharma (c)c Harmeet Singh b Netravalkar36120050.00
Virat Kohli c †Gous b Netravalkar011000.00
Rishabh Pant †b Ali Khan1820381190.00
Suryakumar Yadav not out50498022102.04
Shivam Dube not out3135511188.57
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 2, pen 5)9
TOTAL18.2 Ov (RR: 6.05)111/3
Did not bat: Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj 
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Virat Kohli, 0.2 ov), 2-15 (Rohit Sharma, 2.2 ov), 3-44 (Rishabh Pant, 7.3 ov) • DRS
Saurabh Netravalkar401824.50130100
Ali Khan3.202116.3082010
Jasdeep Singh402406.00111101
Shadley van Schalkwyk402506.2581100
Corey Anderson301705.6680110


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here