IND vs PAK: India Snatches Victory from Pakistan’s Grasp in a T20 World Cup Nail-biter

IND vs PAK: India Snatches Victory from Pakistan's Grasp in a T20 World Cup Nail-biter

IND vs PAK: Fire and rain marked the high-octane clash between India and Pakistan at the Nassau County Stadium. Chasing a meagre 120, Pakistan seemed to have their foot on the gas with a steady opening partnership.

Pakistan appeared to be in control of the chase, chasing a paltry 120 thanks to a solid opening partnership.

However, the yorker king Jasprit Bumrah had other ideas. He fired a scorching ball that sent Babar Azam packing and finished with an amazing spell of (3/14). With his cutters (2/24), Hardik Pandya joined the fray, leaving Pakistan needing 18 runs off the last over in a nail-biting finish.

Earlier, Pakistan’s quicks wreaked havoc on the Indian batting order. Virat Kohli’s dismissal (3 runs) set the alarm bells ringing. Rohit Sharma soon followed, trapped plumb by Shaheen Afridi.

A glimmer of hope emerged with Axar Patel, surprisingly promoted ahead of Suryakumar Yadav, and Rishabh Pant stitching together a 39-run stand. However, Pakistan’s bowling stinginess and fielding acrobatics restricted India to a below-par 119 (all out in 19 overs).

Rain played a supporting role, delaying the toss and the start of the match. Yet, when the storm subsided, a classic India-Pakistan rivalry unfolded, leaving fans on the edge of their seats. India, with their bowling brilliance, ultimately snatched victory from the jaws of defeat.

IND vs PAK: Full Scorecard

India  (20 ovs maximum)

Rohit Sharma (c)c Haris Rauf b Shaheen Shah Afridi13121511108.33
Virat Kohli c Usman Khan b Naseem Shah43710133.33
Rishabh Pant †c Babar Azam b Mohammad Amir42316560135.48
Axar Patel b Naseem Shah20182621111.11
Suryakumar Yadav c Mohammad Amir b Haris Rauf78161087.50
Shivam Dube c & b Naseem Shah3970033.33
Hardik Pandya c Iftikhar Ahmed b Haris Rauf712241058.33
Ravindra Jadeja c Imad Wasim b Mohammad Amir011000.00
Arshdeep Singh run out (Babar Azam/†Mohammad Rizwan)913261069.23
Jasprit Bumrah c Imad Wasim b Haris Rauf011000.00
Mohammed Siraj not out77700100.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 5)7
TOTAL19 Ov (RR: 6.26)119
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Virat Kohli, 1.3 ov), 2-19 (Rohit Sharma, 2.4 ov), 3-58 (Axar Patel, 7.4 ov), 4-89 (Suryakumar Yadav, 11.2 ov), 5-95 (Shivam Dube, 13.2 ov), 6-96 (Rishabh Pant, 14.1 ov), 7-96 (Ravindra Jadeja, 14.2 ov), 8-112 (Hardik Pandya, 17.4 ov), 9-112 (Jasprit Bumrah, 17.5 ov), 10-119 (Arshdeep Singh, 18.6 ov) • DRS
Shaheen Shah Afridi402917.25141210
Naseem Shah402135.25153011
Mohammad Amir402325.75153000
Iftikhar Ahmed10707.0031010
Imad Wasim301705.6661010
Haris Rauf302137.00104000

Pakistan  (T: 120 runs from 20 ovs)

Mohammad Rizwan †b Bumrah3144671170.45
Babar Azam (c)c Yadav b Bumrah13102320130.00
Usman Khan lbw b Patel1315231086.66
Fakhar Zaman c †Pant b Pandya138811162.50
Imad Wasim c †Pant b Arshdeep Singh1523401065.21
Shadab Khan c †Pant b Pandya47100057.14
Iftikhar Ahmed c Arshdeep Singh b Bumrah59140055.55
Shaheen Shah Afridi not out014000.00
Naseem Shah not out104320250.00
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 4)9
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 5.65)113/7
Did not bat: Mohammad Amir, Haris Rauf 
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Babar Azam, 4.4 ov), 2-57 (Usman Khan, 10.1 ov), 3-73 (Fakhar Zaman, 12.2 ov), 4-80 (Mohammad Rizwan, 14.1 ov), 5-88 (Shadab Khan, 16.3 ov), 6-102 (Iftikhar Ahmed, 18.6 ov), 7-102 (Imad Wasim, 19.1 ov) • DRS
Arshdeep Singh403117.75114010
Mohammed Siraj401904.75111011
Jasprit Bumrah401433.50151000
Hardik Pandya402426.00111110
Ravindra Jadeja201005.0051000
Axar Patel201115.5060100


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here