IND vs AUS 4th test: India wins the series as 4th test ends in a draw, also qualifies for WTC Final

IND vs AUS 4th test: India wins the series after 4th test ends in a draw, also qualifies for WTC Final

India won the Border Gavaskar series for the forth time in a row beating Australia 2-1 after the fourth Test ended in a tie.

Before the teams shook hands, the visitors who were batting on 175-2 with an 84-run lead. India qualified for the World Test Championship final thanks to Sri Lanka’s earlier loss to New Zealand on the penultimate ball.

On June 7–11, they will battle with Australia for the Test championship at The Oval.

The tourists began the day behind by 91 runs in the first innings after India collected 571 runs, with Virat Kohli batting 186.

Nonetheless, Australia’s batsmen batted well against the Indian bowlers on a flat pitch, as Marnus Labuschagne scored an impressive 63 runs from 213 balls to finish unbeaten.

Earlier, in a 139-run partnership for the second wicket with Labuschagne, opener Travis Head scored 90 runs off of 163 balls.

The first wicket to go for six to Ravichandran Ashwin was nightwatchman Matthew Kuhnemann, with spin doing the the majority of the overs in batter-friendly conditions.

India won the series for the 16th time in a row at home, and they will now play in their second World Test Championship final after falling to New Zealand in the first one in 2021.

After defeating India in the third Test in Indore, Australia’s spot was secured, but Sri Lanka and India were still vying for the second spot.

Even if Sri Lanka defeats New Zealand in the second Test of their series, which begins on Friday, they will no longer be able to qualify because India avoided defeat.

India won the Border-Gavaskar trophy for a record-breaking fourth time thanks to the draw.

Indian Captain Rohit Sharma: “Very proud of the Delhi Test”

“It was fantastic. Right from the word go. It was exciting, all the Test matches there was something in it for everyone to watch. We understand the importance of the series and definitely understand the importance of the opposition. After playing good cricket for 40-odd days we stand here with a result we are quite happy with. “

“There were challenges thrown up but we responded to them. With the result 2-1, the first two Tests, we knew how important it was to start the series. I think the Delhi Test match was something I’m really proud of because we were very much behind the game and to comeback from the situation that we did shows a lot of character and a lot of fight.”

Australian Captain: “It was a really well fought series”

“It did end slowly. That was a pretty flat wicket that one. It was a really enjoyable series to be a part of. The boys had a great time over here. The hospitality has been outstanding and the crowds have been amazing. It was a really well fought series. I think we started to play a lot better as the series went on. That hour of madness I suppose in Delhi really cost us in that game. But I think coming back from that in Indore we fought back really nicely and this game as well. Unfortunately the wicket was probably a little bit too flat for a result in the end.”

Full Scorecard: IND vs AUS, 4th test

Australia 1st Innings 

Travis Head c Jadeja b Ashwin3244697072.72
Usman Khawaja lbw b Patel18042261121042.65
Marnus Labuschagne b Mohammed Shami320240015.00
Steven Smith (c)b Jadeja381351533028.14
Peter Handscomb b Mohammed Shami1727323062.96
Cameron Green c †Bharat b Ashwin11417024918067.05
Alex Carey †c Patel b Ashwin043000.00
Mitchell Starc c Iyer b Ashwin620230030.00
Nathan Lyon c Kohli b Ashwin34961336035.41
Todd Murphy lbw b Ashwin4161745067.21
Matthew Kuhnemann not out076000.00
Extras(b 9, lb 3, nb 2, w 1)15
TOTAL167.2 Ov (RR: 2.86, 693 Mins)480
Fall of wickets: 1-61 (Travis Head, 15.3 ov), 2-72 (Marnus Labuschagne, 22.2 ov), 3-151 (Steven Smith, 63.4 ov), 4-170 (Peter Handscomb, 70.4 ov), 5-378 (Cameron Green, 130.2 ov), 6-378 (Alex Carey, 130.6 ov), 7-387 (Mitchell Starc, 135.3 ov), 8-409 (Usman Khawaja, 146.1 ov), 9-479 (Todd Murphy, 165.3 ov), 10-480 (Nathan Lyon, 167.2 ov) • DRS
Mohammed Shami31313424.3212
Umesh Yadav25210504.2000
Ravichandran Ashwin47.2159161.9200
Ravindra Jadeja3558912.5400
Axar Patel2884711.6700
Shreyas Iyer10202.0000

India 1st Innings 

Rohit Sharma (c)c Labuschagne b Kuhnemann3558923160.34
Shubman Gill lbw b Lyon12823535112154.46
Cheteshwar Pujara lbw b Murphy421211883034.71
Virat Kohli c Labuschagne b Murphy18636451715051.09
Ravindra Jadeja c Khawaja b Murphy28841112133.33
Srikar Bharat †c Handscomb b Lyon44881172350.00
Axar Patel b Starc791131765469.91
Ravichandran Ashwin c Kuhnemann b Lyon712241058.33
Umesh Yadav run out (Handscomb)00300
Mohammed Shami not out0211000.00
Shreyas Iyer absent hurt
Extras(b 14, lb 4, nb 4)22
TOTAL178.5 Ov (RR: 3.19, 799 Mins)571
Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Rohit Sharma, 20.6 ov), 2-187 (Cheteshwar Pujara, 61.6 ov), 3-245 (Shubman Gill, 78.4 ov), 4-309 (Ravindra Jadeja, 106.6 ov), 5-393 (Srikar Bharat, 136.4 ov), 6-555 (Axar Patel, 172.3 ov), 7-568 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 175.6 ov), 8-569 (Umesh Yadav, 176.3 ov), 9-571 (Virat Kohli, 178.5 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc2239714.4000
Cameron Green1819005.0003
Nathan Lyon65915132.3200
Matthew Kuhnemann2539413.7601
Todd Murphy45.51011332.4600
Travis Head30802.6600

Australia 2nd Innings 

Matthew Kuhnemann lbw b Ashwin635391017.14
Travis Head b Patel9016324310255.21
Marnus Labuschagne not out632132707029.57
Steven Smith (c)not out1059662016.94
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 1)6
TOTAL78.1 Ov (RR: 2.23, 310 Mins)175/2d

Online Cricket Betting Apps

If you are interested in online IPL betting or want to do IPL betting predictions try

Also read why the IPL is successful here. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here