How much will WTC final winners earn?

How much will WTC final winners earn

How much will WTC final winners earn?

The World Test Championship (WTC) is a tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to determine the best Test cricket team in the world. The WTC 2023 final will be played between India and Australia at The Oval in London from June 7, 2023. The winner of this one-off match will not only secure the Test mace and join New Zealand on the elite list of WTC champions, but also earn a big sum of prize money.

Prize money details for winners, runners-up, and other WTC participants

According to the ICC, the total purse for the WTC 2023 cycle is $3.8 million, which will be shared between the nine teams that featured in the competition. The prize money for each position is as follows:

Position               Prize money

Winners               $1.6 million

Runners-up         $800,000

3rd place             $450,000

4th place             $350,000

5th place             $200,000

6th to 9th place $100,000 each

How India and Australia reached the WTC final

How much will WTC final winners earn
How much will WTC final winners earn? 2

India and Australia topped the WTC points table with 127 and 152 points respectively from 18 and 19 matches. India won seven series and lost three, while Australia won six series and lost two. South Africa missed out on a berth in the final as they finished third with 100 points from 15 matches.

India’s journey to the WTC final was marked by some memorable victories over Australia and England. They came back from a humiliating defeat in Adelaide to win the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2-1 in Australia, with stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane leading from the front. They also defeated England 3-1 at home, with spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel dominating the proceedings.

Australia’s path to the WTC final was also impressive, as they defeated Pakistan, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka at home, and beat England in the Ashes. They also won a historic series against South Africa in their backyard, with Pat Cummins and Steven Smith shining with ball and bat respectively.

What to expect from the WTC final

The WTC final promises to be a thrilling contest between two evenly-matched teams. Both sides have a strong batting line-up, with Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara for India, and David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne and Smith for Australia. Both sides also have a potent bowling attack, with Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon for Australia, and Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Ashwin for India.

The match will be played with Duke balls, which are known to swing more than Kookaburra or SG balls. The Oval pitch is usually good for batting, but can also offer some assistance to seamers and spinners as the match progresses. The weather could also play a role, as there is a reserve day in case of rain interruptions.

The WTC final will be a test of skill, temperament and resilience for both teams. It will also be a historic occasion for cricket fans around the world, as they witness the crowning of a new champion of Test cricket.

I hope you now know How much will WTC final winners earn.

For more cricket news, follow 12betindia.

Also, check out for the best Cricket news and updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here