How many ODI world cups has India won?

How many ODI world cups has India won?

Cricket is one of the most popular sports in India, and the Indian cricket team is a two-time world champion in the One Day International (ODI) format. The ODI World Cup, also known as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, is the international championship of 50-over cricket, organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years. India has participated in all twelve editions of the tournament so far, and has won the title twice, in 1983 and 2011. India was also the runner-up in 2003 and the semi-finalist in four other occasions. In this article, we will learn about How many ODI world cups has India won?

Indian cricket team is two time world cup champion and also runners up’s at 2003 cricket world cup. They were also semifinalist for 4 times in year 1987, 1996, 2015 and 2019.

1983 Cricket world cup

Hosted by: England

How many ODI world cups has India won?
How many ODI world cups has India won? 3

India did not have very prestige record in one day internarional cricket so far and were not expected to get pass even beyond group stage which was held in England. But this time the dynamics of tournament is quite different from past editions. The 1983 World Cup win was a historic moment for Indian cricket and the world of cricket. It was the first time that India reached the final of the tournament, and they faced the mighty West Indies, who had won the previous two editions. India, led by Kapil Dev, defied all odds and stunned the world with their performance. They scored 183 runs in their innings, with Kris Srikkanth top-scoring with 38 runs. Then, they bowled out the West Indies for 140 runs, with Madan Lal and Mohinder Amarnath taking three wickets each. India won by 43 runs and lifted their first World Cup trophy . It was a moment of joy and pride for the nation, and a turning point for Indian cricket.

2011 Cricket world cup

Hosted by: India

ICC World Cup 2011
How many ODI world cups has India won? 4

As India was one of the host for the 2011 cricket world cup It was quite expected by India to perform well under familiar environment. India Already gained adequate amount of attention from media and press. India’s 2011 world cup campaing started with a win against Bangladesh with 87 runs. India defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, chasing down a target of 275 runs with 10 balls to spare. India’s captain MS Dhoni played a match-winning innings of 91 not out, and was named the man of the match. Yuvraj Singh, who scored 362 runs and took 15 wickets in the tournament, was awarded the man of the series. It was a moment of celebration and emotion for millions of Indian fans, who witnessed their team lift the coveted trophy.


I hope you are now aware of How many ODI world cups has India won. India has produced some of the greatest cricketers and captains in the history of the game, who have led and inspired their team to achieve glory on the biggest stage. India has also been a host or co-host of four editions of the tournament, and will host the next one in 2023. India will be aiming to win their third World Cup trophy on their home ground, and make their fans proud once again.

For more articles like this, follow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here