CSK vs LSG: Stoinis’ Heroics Lead LSG to Highest Run Chase at Chepauk


CSK vs LSG: Marcus Stoinis cored a brilliant century as LSG beat CSK in a thrilling encounter. Two great catches but multiple fielding errors paved the way for Chennai Super Kings to score 49 runs in the first powerplay after KL Rahul won the toss and elected to bowl first in match No.39 of the Indian Premier League season 2024 at the Chepauk.

Pacer Mat Henry bagged the crucial wicket of Ajinkya Rahane in the first over as LSG skipper Rahul plucked a one-handed stunner in the first over. LSG were unchanged while Chennai Super Kings opted to drop Rachin Ravindra.  

Leading the Super Kings from the front, captain Ruturaj Gaikwad smashed his first century as Chennai skipper to help the hosts post a gigantic total of 210/4 in 20 overs.

Ton-up Gaikwad (108) teamed up with on-song Shivam Dube (66) as the duo added 104 runs for the fourth wicket. Applying finishing touches to CSK’s gigantic total, MS Dhoni smashed a boundary on the final ball of the innings. 

In response, Lucknow Super Giants came out all guns blazing, with Australia’s Marcus Stoinis playing a stellar innings. Stoinis smashed a stunning century, scoring 124 runs off just 63 balls, overshadowing Gaikwad’s century.

He was well-supported by Nicholas Pooran, who scored 34 off 15 balls, and Deepak Hooda, who scored 17 off 6 balls. Their efforts helped LSG chase down the target in 19.3 overs, completing the highest successful run-chase at Chepauk and sealing a thrilling win.

CSK vs LSG: Full Scorecard

Chennai Super Kings  (20 ovs maximum)

Ajinkya Rahane c †Rahul b Henry1340033.33
Ruturaj Gaikwad (c)not out10860102123180.00
Daryl Mitchell c Hooda b Yash Thakur11102210110.00
Ravindra Jadeja c †Rahul b Mohsin Khan1619292084.21
Shivam Dube run out (de Kock/Stoinis)66274137244.44
MS Dhoni †not out41110400.00
Extras(lb 2, w 2)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.50)210/4
Did not bat: Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana 
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Ajinkya Rahane, 0.6 ov), 2-49 (Daryl Mitchell, 5.2 ov), 3-101 (Ravindra Jadeja, 11.5 ov), 4-205 (Shivam Dube, 19.4 ov) • DRS
Matt Henry402817.0093000
Mohsin Khan4050112.5065300
Ravi Bishnoi201909.5023000
Yash Thakur4047111.7593410
Marcus Stoinis4049012.2553310
Krunal Pandya201507.5032000

Lucknow Super Giants  (T: 211 runs from 20 ovs)

Quinton de Kock b Chahar032000.00
KL Rahul (c)†c Gaikwad b Mustafizur Rahman16142511114.28
Marcus Stoinis not out12463104136196.82
Devdutt Padikkal b Pathirana1319270068.42
Nicholas Pooran c Thakur b Pathirana34153232226.66
Deepak Hooda not out1762021283.33

Overshadowing Gaikwad in the high-scoring contest, Australia’s Marcus Stoinis smashed a stunning century to help LSG seal a thrilling win. Stoinis smashed 124 off 63 balls as LSG chased down the target in 19.3 overs. Stoinis was also assisted by Nicholas Pooran (34 off 15 balls) and Deepak Hooda (17 off 6 balls) to help LSG complete the highest successful run-chase at Chepauk. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here