CSK vs KKR: Jadeja, Gaikwad Shine as CSK Outclass KKR


CSK vs KKR: Ruturaj Gaikwad played a match-winning innings to guide Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to victory against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), handing them their first defeat of the ongoing IPL season. Gaikwad remained unbeaten on 67 as CSK chased down their target of 138 with 7 wickets and 14 balls to spare.

KKR, batting first, struggled to get going on a sluggish pitch that offered turn. Despite a good start, they were derailed by a game-changing spell from Ravindra Jadeja, who dismissed Angkrish Raghuvanshi and Sunil Narine in one over. Jadeja finished with figures of 3/18, well supported by Maheesh Theekshana and others as CSK’s spinners dominated proceedings.

In response, CSK got off to a solid start, with Gaikwad anchoring the innings. The highlight of the match came when MS Dhoni walked out to bat at the MA Chidambaram Stadium for the first time in the season, much to the delight of the Chepauk faithful. Dhoni’s presence added to the excitement, and Gaikwad sealed the victory with a composed innings.

CSK’s victory was also aided by the return of Mustafizur Rahman and Shardul Thakur, who had a memorable outing against his former side. KKR, on the other hand, were unchanged but failed to maintain their winning momentum.

With this win, CSK bounced back from consecutive defeats on the road and maintained their perfect record at home, showcasing their dominance in familiar conditions. The win will boost their confidence as they look to build momentum in the remainder of the tournament.

Score big with 12BET! Join today and turn your passion for sports into winnings!

CSK vs KKR: Full Scorecard

Kolkata Knight Riders  (20 ovs maximum)

Phil Salt †c Jadeja b Deshpande011000.00
Sunil Narine c Theekshana b Jadeja27203632135.00
Angkrish Raghuvanshi lbw b Jadeja24183031133.33
Shreyas Iyer (c)c Jadeja b Mustafizur Rahman34326230106.25
Venkatesh Iyer c Mitchell b Jadeja3860037.50
Ramandeep Singh b Theekshana1312301108.33
Rinku Singh b Deshpande914220064.28
Andre Russell c Mitchell b Deshpande10101120100.00
Anukul Roy not out33900100.00
Mitchell Starc c Ravindra b Mustafizur Rahman032000.00
Vaibhav Arora not out11200100.00
Extras(b 1, lb 4, nb 2, w 6)13
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 6.85)137/9
Did not bat: Varun Chakravarthy 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Phil Salt, 0.1 ov), 2-56 (Angkrish Raghuvanshi, 6.1 ov), 3-60 (Sunil Narine, 6.5 ov), 4-64 (Venkatesh Iyer, 8.2 ov), 5-85 (Ramandeep Singh, 11.5 ov), 6-112 (Rinku Singh, 16.4 ov), 7-127 (Andre Russell, 18.2 ov), 8-135 (Shreyas Iyer, 19.1 ov), 9-135 (Mitchell Starc, 19.4 ov) • DRS
Tushar Deshpande403338.25124120
Mustafizur Rahman402225.50163021
Shardul Thakur302709.0033011
Maheesh Theekshana402817.00130300
Ravindra Jadeja401834.50111010
Rachin Ravindra10404.0020000

Chennai Super Kings  (T: 138 runs from 20 ovs)

Rachin Ravindra c Varun b Arora1581830187.50
Ruturaj Gaikwad (c)not out67588390115.51
Daryl Mitchell b Narine25193911131.57
Shivam Dube b Arora28181913155.55
MS Dhoni †not out1330033.33
Extras(lb 2, w 3)5
TOTAL17.4 Ov (RR: 7.98)141/3
Did not bat: Ajinkya Rahane, Sameer Rizvi, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Rachin Ravindra, 3.2 ov), 2-97 (Daryl Mitchell, 12.3 ov), 3-135 (Shivam Dube, 16.5 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc302909.6675020
Vaibhav Arora402827.00113100
Anukul Roy1.4018010.8044000
Sunil Narine403017.5051100
Varun Chakravarthy402606.50110200
Andre Russell10808.0021010


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here