AUS vs NED: Glenn Maxwell scores Fastest World cup century as Australia demolish The Netherlands


AUS vs NED: Australia crushed the Netherlands by a record 309 runs in Delhi, thanks to Glenn Maxwell’s blistering century in just 40 balls, the fastest in men’s World Cup history. He surpassed Aiden Markram’s 49-ball record, which he made for South Africa against Sri Lanka 18 days earlier.

The Netherlands were skittled out for 90, chasing Australia’s mammoth 399-8, which included David Warner’s second ton of the tournament and Bas de Leede’s unwanted ODI record of 115 runs conceded.

Maxwell’s knock was a display of sheer brilliance and audacity, ranking fourth in the fastest ODI centuries and breaking Australia’s record of 51 balls by himself against Sri Lanka in the 2015 World Cup.

The quickest ODI century belongs to South Africa’s AB de Villiers, who smashed it in 31 balls against West Indies in 2015.

The defeat was worse than Afghanistan’s 275-run loss to Australia in the 2015 World Cup, and also Australia’s biggest ODI victory.

Australia have bounced back from three losses to win three games in a row, and are strengthening their position in the top four with a huge boost to their net run-rate.

The Netherlands have only one win against South Africa last Tuesday, and are at the bottom of the table. Australia were on 266-4 when Maxwell joined the action, and looked like wasting a chance to score 400.

But after losing Josh Inglis and Cameron Green to make it 290-6, Maxwell unleashed his fury. He was on 15 then and accelerated with captain Pat Cummins by his side.

He played some unbelievable shots, like reverse sweeps over point, reverse pulls for six and powerful drives down the ground. He reached his milestone with three sixes in a row over the leg side. He roared in celebration, then hugged his bat as he had recently become a father, with his family joining him in India.

Warner had set the tone with four fours in a row early on, and scored his inevitable sixth World Cup hundred. He is now equal with Sachin Tendulkar and one behind Rohit Sharma, and also fifth in the World Cup all-time run-scorers list.

Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne also scored fifties, but Green made only eight and might lose his spot to Travis Head when he recovers from a hand injury.

The Netherlands had no answer with the bat, with only five players reaching double digits, and Vikram Singh top-scoring with 25.

Adam Zampa was superb with the ball, taking 4-8 to clean up the tail, and has 13 wickets in the tournament.

Australia are confident of making the semi-finals with games against New Zealand, England, Afghanistan and Bangladesh left.

AUS vs NED: Full Scorecard

Australia  (50 ovs maximum)

Mitchell Marsh c Ackermann b van Beek915152060.00
David Warner c Dutt b van Beek10493182113111.82
Steven Smith c van der Merwe b Dutt71688891104.41
Marnus Labuschagne c Dutt b de Leede62476072131.91
Josh Inglis †c Engelbrecht b de Leede14121211116.66
Glenn Maxwell c Engelbrecht b van Beek106445398240.90
Cameron Green run out (Engelbrecht)811151072.72
Pat Cummins (c)not out1293920133.33
Mitchell Starc c Ackermann b van Beek011000.00
Adam Zampa not out11200100.00
Extras(nb 1, w 11)12
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 7.98)399/8
Did not bat: Josh Hazlewood 
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Mitchell Marsh, 3.5 ov), 2-160 (Steven Smith, 23.3 ov), 3-244 (Marnus Labuschagne, 36.1 ov), 4-266 (Josh Inglis, 38.6 ov), 5-267 (David Warner, 39.1 ov), 6-290 (Cameron Green, 42.2 ov), 7-393 (Glenn Maxwell, 49.3 ov), 8-393 (Mitchell Starc, 49.4 ov) • DRS
Aryan Dutt705918.42179100
Colin Ackermann401904.75100100
Logan van Beek1007447.40317350
Paul van Meekeren1006406.40297130
Vikramjit Singh402706.75133110
Roelof van der Merwe504108.20113210
Bas de Leede100115211.502013611

Netherlands  (T: 400 runs from 50 ovs)

Vikramjit Singh run out (Maxwell)25252860100.00
Max O’Dowd b Starc69211066.66
Colin Ackermann lbw b Hazlewood1011212090.90
Sybrand Engelbrecht c Warner b Marsh1121361052.38
Bas de Leede lbw b Cummins4771057.14
Scott Edwards (c)†not out1222530054.54
Teja Nidamanuru c †Inglis b Marsh1418192077.77
Logan van Beek c †Inglis b Zampa033000.00
Roelof van der Merwe lbw b Zampa011000.00
Aryan Dutt lbw b Zampa1890012.50
Paul van Meekeren st †Inglis b Zampa012000.00
Extras(w 7)7
TOTAL21 Ov (RR: 4.28)90
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Max O’Dowd, 4.5 ov), 2-37 (Vikramjit Singh, 5.5 ov), 3-47 (Colin Ackermann, 9.2 ov), 4-53 (Bas de Leede, 10.5 ov), 5-62 (Sybrand Engelbrecht, 13.2 ov), 6-84 (Teja Nidamanuru, 17.5 ov), 7-86 (Logan van Beek, 18.3 ov), 8-86 (Roelof van der Merwe, 18.4 ov), 9-90 (Aryan Dutt, 20.5 ov), 10-90 (Paul van Meekeren, 20.6 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc402215.50195020
Josh Hazlewood602714.50254020
Pat Cummins401413.50162000
Mitchell Marsh401924.75152030
Adam Zampa30842.66100000

Follow for all the latest news and updates from the world of cricket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here