RCB Crowned Champions After Defeating Delhi Capitals in WPL Final


WPL Final: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) emerged victorious in the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 final against Delhi Capitals (DC), clinching the title with a resounding eight-wicket win. The match, held in New Delhi, saw RCB chase down Delhi’s target of 113 with ease.

Winning the toss, DC opted to bat first but struggled against RCB’s bowling attack. Despite a strong start from openers Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma, who scored 44 off 27 balls, DC lost wickets at regular intervals. Sophie Molineux was the pick of the bowlers for RCB, taking crucial wickets to restrict DC to 113 all out.

In response, RCB got off to a solid start in the WPL Final, with Sophie Devine scoring 32 runs before falling to Shikha Pandey. However, contributions from other batters ensured RCB’s victory, with Ellyse Perry (35*) and Richa Ghosh (17*) guiding the team to victory in the 19th over.

RCB’s victory was a result of a disciplined bowling performance and a calculated run chase, showcasing their dominance in the WPL 2024. The win also highlighted the team’s ability to perform under pressure in a high-stakes final.

WPL Final: Full Scorecard

Delhi Capitals Women  (20 ovs maximum)

Meg Lanning (c)lbw b Patil23234630100.00
Shafali Verma c Wareham b Molineux44273123162.96
Jemimah Rodrigues b Molineux021000.00
Alice Capsey b Molineux011000.00
Marizanne Kapp c Devine b Sobhana816200050.00
Jess Jonassen c Mandhana b Sobhana311110027.27
Radha Yadav run out (Molineux)1291520133.33
Minnu Mani lbw b Patil53410166.66
Arundhati Reddy b Patil1013160076.92
Shikha Pandey not out551000100.00
Taniya Bhatia †c †Ghosh b Patil012000.00
Extras(w 3)3
TOTAL18.3 Ov (RR: 6.10)113
Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Shafali Verma, 7.1 ov), 2-64 (Jemimah Rodrigues, 7.3 ov), 3-64 (Alice Capsey, 7.4 ov), 4-74 (Meg Lanning, 10.4 ov), 5-80 (Marizanne Kapp, 13.1 ov), 6-81 (Jess Jonassen, 13.3 ov), 7-87 (Minnu Mani, 14.1 ov), 8-101 (Radha Yadav, 16.2 ov), 9-113 (Arundhati Reddy, 18.2 ov), 10-113 (Taniya Bhatia, 18.3 ov) • DRS
Renuka Singh2028014.0012120
Sophie Molineux402035.0090100
Ellyse Perry201407.0061100
Sophie Devine10909.0032000
Georgia Wareham301605.3382000
Shreyanka Patil3.301243.42100000
Asha Sobhana301424.6681010

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women  (T: 114 runs from 20 ovs)

Smriti Mandhana (c)c Reddy b Mani3139583079.48
Sophie Devine lbw b Pandey32273251118.51
Ellyse Perry not out3537444094.59
Richa Ghosh †not out17141720121.42
TOTAL19.3 Ov (RR: 5.89)115/2
Did not bat: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sophie Molineux, Disha Kasat, Georgia Wareham, Shreyanka Patil, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Singh 
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Sophie Devine, 8.1 ov), 2-82 (Smriti Mandhana, 14.6 ov) • DRS
Marizanne Kapp402005.00133000
Alice Capsey301304.3381000
Shikha Pandey401112.75130000
Radha Yadav1018018.0023100
Arundhati Reddy3.302607.4274000
Jess Jonassen201507.5032000
Minnu Mani201216.0031000

Follow 12cricket.com for the latest news and updates from IPL 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here