What is Purple Cap in IPL?

What is Purple Cap in IPL?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that features some of the best players from around the world. The IPL is known for its high-octane action, thrilling matches and individual brilliance. To honour and reward the outstanding performers in each season, the IPL has introduced various awards such as the Orange Cap, the Purple Cap, the Most Valuable Player and the Emerging Player of the Year.

The Purple Cap is a prize that every bowler in the IPL wants. It is awarded to the leading wicket-taker of the IPL season. The bowler with the most wickets in the tournament during the season is allowed to wear the Cap in the field. In an event of a tie, the Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler with a better economy rate.


Here is the list of purple cap winners from 2008 to 2022:

What is Purple Cap in IPL?
What is Purple Cap in IPL? 2
  1. IPL Purple Cap winner 2008: Sohail Tanvir – Rajasthan Royals – 22 wickets
  2. IPL Purple Cap winner 2009: RP Singh – Deccan Chargers – 23 wickets
  3. IPL Purple Cap winner 2010: Pragyan Ojha – Deccan Chargers – 21 wickets
  4. IPL Purple Cap winner 2011: Lasith Malinga – Mumbai Indians – 28 wickets
  5. IPL Purple Cap winner 2012: Morne Morkel – Delhi Indians – 25 wickets
  6. IPL Purple Cap winner 2013: Dwayne Bravo – Chennai Super Kings – 32 wickets
  7. IPL Purple Cap winner 2014: Mohit Sharma – Chennai Super Kings – 23 wickets
  8. IPL Purple Cap winner 2015: Dwayne Bravo – Chennai Super Kings – 26 wickets
  9. IPL Purple Cap winner 2016: Bhuvneshwar Kumar – Sunrisers Hyderabad – 23 wickets
  10. IPL Purple Cap winner 2017: Bhuvneshwar Kumar – Sunsrisers Hyderabad – 26 wickets
  11. IPL Purple Cap winner 2018: Andrew Tye – Punjab Kings – 24 wickets
  12. IPL Purple Cap winner 2019: Imran Tahir – Chennai Super Kings – 26 wickets
  13. IPL Purple Cap winner 2020: Kagiso Rabada – Delhi Capitals- 30 wickets
  14. IPL Purple Cap winner 2021: Harshal Patel – Royal Challengers Bangalore – 26 wickets
  15. IPL Purple Cap winner 2022: Yuzvendra Chahal – Rajasthan Royals – 27 wickets

Some interesting facts about Purple Cap

  • The Purple Cap race officially starts after all franchises have played one game each.
  • The current holder of the Purple Cap is Yuzvendra Chahal from Rajasthan, who took 27 wickets in 14 matches in 20222. He beat Harshal Patel from Bangalore, who took 26 wickets in 15 matches in 20212.
  • Both Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar have the record of winning the Purple Cap twice in the history of IPL, which is the highest so far. Bravo won it in 2013 and 2015, while Kumar won it in 2016 and 20172.
  • Five Indians have won the Purple Cap in the IPL. They are RP Singh (2009), Pragyan Ojha (2010), Mohit Sharma (2014), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016 and 2017) and Harshal Patel (2021).
  • The Purple Cap winner’s team also won the IPL championship in 2009, when RP Singh helped Deccan Chargers defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore. This was also the second time that a Purple Cap winner became a member of the winning team, after Sohail Tanvir did it for Rajasthan Royals in 2008.

Online Cricket Betting Apps

If you are interested in online IPL betting or want to do IPL betting predictions try 12bet.com

Also read why the IPL is successful here. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here