SRH vs LSG: Abhishek, Head Dominate as Sunrisers Crush Lucknow


SRH vs LSG: Lucknow Super Giants faced a crushing defeat at the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad in match No. 57 of the Indian Premier League 2024 season. Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Lucknow suffered an early setback as opener Quinton de Kock was dismissed for a mere 2 runs. Senior pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar wreaked havoc in the early overs, also claiming the wicket of Marcus Stoinis (3), restricting Lucknow to their third-lowest score in the powerplay against the hosts.

Lucknow’s innings, however, saw a remarkable recovery, thanks to a brilliant partnership between Nicholas Pooran and Ayush Badoni. Badoni played a superb knock, scoring 55 off 30 balls, while Pooran remained unbeaten on 48. Their partnership of 99 runs was crucial in steering Lucknow to a competitive total of 166 runs.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s response was nothing short of spectacular, with openers Travis Head and Abhishek going on the offensive right from the start. The duo smashed 107 runs in the first powerplay, with Head reaching his half-century off just 16 balls. Abhishek completed his fifty in 19 balls as Sunrisers reached 120/0 in just 6.3 overs, putting them in a commanding position.

In the end, Sunrisers Hyderabad cruised to a 10-wicket victory in the 9th over, with Abhishek (75*) and Head (89*) leading the charge. Their partnership was a display of exceptional batting, as they smashed 148 runs in just 30 boundary balls. With this win, Sunrisers Hyderabad continued their strong performance in the IPL 2024 season, while Lucknow Super Giants faced a setback in their playoff aspirations.

SRH vs LSG: Full Scorecard

Lucknow Super Giants  (20 ovs maximum)

KL Rahul (c)†c Natarajan b Cummins2933481187.87
Quinton de Kock c Nitish Kumar Reddy b Kumar25110040.00
Marcus Stoinis c Sanvir Singh b Kumar35120060.00
Krunal Pandya run out (Cummins)24212902114.28
Nicholas Pooran not out48264861184.61
Ayush Badoni not out55304190183.33
Extras(lb 1, w 3)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.25)165/4
Did not bat: Deepak Hooda, Krishnappa Gowtham, Yash Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq 
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Quinton de Kock, 2.1 ov), 2-21 (Marcus Stoinis, 4.2 ov), 3-57 (KL Rahul, 9.6 ov), 4-66 (Krunal Pandya, 11.2 ov) • DRS
Bhuvneshwar Kumar401223.00120000
Pat Cummins4047111.7556100
Shahbaz Ahmed20904.5040000
Vijayakanth Viyaskanth402706.7582100
Jaydev Unadkat201909.5040200
T Natarajan4050012.5048030

Sunrisers Hyderabad  (T: 166 runs from 20 ovs)

Abhishek Sharma not out75284286267.85
Travis Head not out89304288296.66
Extras(lb 1, w 2)3
TOTAL9.4 Ov (RR: 17.27)167/0
Did not bat: Nitish Kumar Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen †, Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sanvir Singh, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth 
Krishnappa Gowtham2029014.5052310
Yash Thakur2.4047017.6246310
Ravi Bishnoi2034017.0042400
Ayush Badoni1019019.0001200


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here