Namibia vs Oman: Namibia Win a Thriller! Super Over Drama Seals Victory After Scores Tied!


Namibia vs Oman: Namibia kicked off their T20 World Cup campaign in dramatic fashion, securing a thrilling victory over Oman in a nail-biting Super Over finish on Monday.

Trumpelmann Makes History

Opting to bowl first, Namibia got off to a dream start thanks to their South African-born paceman Ruben Trumpelmann (4/21). The 26-year-old etched his name in T20 history by becoming the first player ever to claim two wickets off the opening two deliveries of the match. Opener Kashyap Prajapati and Oman skipper Aqib Ilyas were both dismissed for golden ducks, leaving Oman reeling at 0-2.

Oman Rebuilds, Namibia Falters

Despite the early setback, Oman managed to rebuild their innings thanks to a gritty 34-run knock from Khalid Kail (34 off 39). However, wickets fell at regular intervals, with Namibia’s bowlers maintaining control. Mehran Khan (3/7) was particularly impressive, picking up three crucial wickets to restrict Oman to a modest total of 109 runs in 19.4 overs.

Namibia Respond, Super Over Drama Unfolds

Chasing a seemingly achievable target, Namibia encountered their own batting difficulties. Jan Frylinck’s 45-run knock (48 balls) was the lone bright spot, as Oman’s bowlers kept things tight. Incredibly, Namibia found themselves needing one run off the final ball to win, but only managed to tie the scores at 109, forcing a nerve-wracking Super Over.

Wiese and Erasmus Seal the Win

In the one-over eliminator, David Wiese and Gerhard Erasmus took center stage for Namibia. The pair smashed a combined total of 21 runs, putting immense pressure on Oman’s batsmen. Oman’s chase for victory fell short, as they could only manage 10 runs, handing Namibia a thrilling victory in the first Super Over of the T20 World Cup since 2012.

Namibia vs Oman: Full Scorecard

Oman  (20 ovs maximum)

Kashyap Prajapati lbw b Trumpelmann011000.00
Naseem Khushi †c Erasmus b Trumpelmann661610100.00
Aqib Ilyas (c)lbw b Trumpelmann012000.00
Zeeshan Maqsood lbw b Scholtz22202940110.00
Khalid Kail c & b Wiese3439561187.17
Ayaan Khan c Frylinck b Erasmus1521160171.42
Mohammad Nadeem lbw b Erasmus610100060.00
Mehran Khan lbw b Wiese78121087.50
Shakeel Ahmed c Trumpelmann b Wiese1191320122.22
Kaleemullah lbw b Trumpelmann2340066.66
Bilal Khan not out11500100.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 2)5
TOTAL19.4 Ov (RR: 5.54)109
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Kashyap Prajapati, 0.1 ov), 2-0 (Aqib Ilyas, 0.2 ov), 3-10 (Naseem Khushi, 2.3 ov), 4-37 (Zeeshan Maqsood, 6.3 ov), 5-68 (Ayaan Khan, 11.6 ov), 6-78 (Mohammad Nadeem, 15.1 ov), 7-95 (Khalid Kail, 17.2 ov), 8-96 (Mehran Khan, 17.4 ov), 9-99 (Kaleemullah, 18.3 ov), 10-109 (Shakeel Ahmed, 19.4 ov) • DRS
Ruben Trumpelmann402145.25122001
David Wiese3.402837.63114100
Tangeni Lungameni401804.50142010
Bernard Scholtz402015.00110110
Gerhard Erasmus402025.0091000

Namibia  (T: 110 runs from 20 ovs)

Michael van Lingen b Bilal Khan021000.00
Nikolaas Davin c Mohammad Nadeem b Aqib Ilyas2431352177.41
Jan Frylinck b Mehran Khan4548776093.75
Gerhard Erasmus (c)c Zeeshan Maqsood b Ayaan Khan1316191081.25
JJ Smit c Ayaan Khan b Mehran Khan812131066.66
David Wiese not out981501112.50
Zane Green †lbw b Mehran Khan022000.00
Malan Kruger not out11300100.00
Extras(b 6, w 3)9
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 5.45)109/6
Did not bat: Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz, Tangeni Lungameni 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Michael van Lingen, 0.2 ov), 2-42 (Nikolaas Davin, 8.3 ov), 3-73 (Gerhard Erasmus, 14.3 ov), 4-96 (JJ Smit, 17.3 ov), 5-105 (Jan Frylinck, 19.1 ov), 6-105 (Zane Green, 19.3 ov) • DRS
Bilal Khan402516.25112110
Shakeel Ahmed302006.66104000
Aqib Ilyas411714.25151100
Mehran Khan31732.33120000
Zeeshan Maqsood201206.0041000
Ayaan Khan201216.0061010


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here