MI vs KKR: Mumbai Eliminated from IPL as Kolkata Secures 24-Run Win


MI vs KKR: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) showcased a dominant performance against the Mumbai Indians (MI), securing their first victory at this venue. KKR’s spin duo of Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy set the tone early on, stifling MI’s batters in the first 10 overs. Narine dismissed MI captain Rohit Sharma, while Chakravarthy claimed the wickets of Naman Dhir and Tilak Varma, leaving MI struggling at 61/4 by the ninth over.

MI’s hopes were further dashed when Mitchell Starc joined the attack, taking the crucial wicket of Ishan Kishan in the second over and later finishing the match with a spectacular performance in the second last over, securing three more wickets. Starc’s efforts, along with his earlier dismissal of Kishan, earned him figures of 4/33 and played a significant role in KKR’s 24-run victory.

Earlier in the match, KKR faced a challenging start as MI’s bowlers wreaked havoc on their top order. Nuwan Thushara struck early, dismissing Phil Salt in the first over, and followed it up with the wickets of Angkrish Raghuvanshi and Shreyas Iyer in the third over. Jasprit Bumrah, meanwhile, delivered a tight second over, conceding just two runs. Hardik Pandya and Piyush Chawla further dented KKR’s progress, picking up key wickets in the powerplay.

Despite the early setbacks, Venkatesh Iyer and Manish Pandey steadied KKR’s innings with a crucial 83-run partnership off 62 balls. However, Bumrah’s late onslaught in the death overs, where he claimed three wickets, limited KKR to a total of 169 all out.

With this victory, KKR, currently positioned second in the points table with six victories from nine matches, are looking to strengthen their position for a playoff berth. Meanwhile, MI, who are struggling at the bottom of the table, face an uphill battle to turn their fortunes around in the upcoming matches.

MI vs KKR: Full Scorecard

Kolkata Knight Riders  (20 ovs maximum)

Phil Salt †c Tilak Varma b Thushara53410166.66
Sunil Narine b Pandya882301100.00
Angkrish Raghuvanshi c Yadav b Thushara136802216.66
Shreyas Iyer (c)c David b Thushara64310150.00
Venkatesh Iyer b Bumrah70528063134.61
Rinku Singh c & b Chawla98720112.50
Manish Pandey c sub (D Brevis) b Pandya42314422135.48
Andre Russell run out (Thushara/Pandya)72301350.00
Ramandeep Singh c Coetzee b Bumrah2420050.00
Mitchell Starc b Bumrah021000.00
Vaibhav Arora not out00900
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 5)7
TOTAL19.5 Ov (RR: 8.52)169
Did not bat: Varun Chakravarthy 
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Phil Salt, 0.4 ov), 2-22 (Angkrish Raghuvanshi, 2.2 ov), 3-28 (Shreyas Iyer, 2.6 ov), 4-43 (Sunil Narine, 4.2 ov), 5-57 (Rinku Singh, 6.1 ov), 6-140 (Manish Pandey, 16.2 ov), 7-153 (Andre Russell, 16.6 ov), 8-155 (Ramandeep Singh, 17.4 ov), 9-155 (Mitchell Starc, 17.6 ov), 10-169 (Venkatesh Iyer, 19.5 ov) • DRS
Nuwan Thushara4042310.50113331
Jasprit Bumrah3.501834.69151100
Gerald Coetzee2024012.0033100
Hardik Pandya4044211.0092410
Naman Dhir302508.3332010
Piyush Chawla301515.0081000

Mumbai Indians  (T: 170 runs from 20 ovs)

Ishan Kishan †b Starc137811185.71
Rohit Sharma c Pandey b Narine1112290191.66
Naman Dhir b Varun11111220100.00
Suryakumar Yadav c †Salt b Russell56355762160.00
Tilak Varma c Narine b Varun46120066.66
Nehal Wadhera b Narine611111054.54
Hardik Pandya (c)c Pandey b Russell1320033.33
Tim David c SS Iyer b Starc24203811120.00
Gerald Coetzee b Starc871701114.28
Piyush Chawla c Narine b Starc011000.00
Jasprit Bumrah not out11100100.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 1, w 6)10
TOTAL18.5 Ov (RR: 7.69)145
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Ishan Kishan, 1.4 ov), 2-38 (Naman Dhir, 4.1 ov), 3-46 (Rohit Sharma, 5.5 ov), 4-61 (Tilak Varma, 8.4 ov), 5-70 (Nehal Wadhera, 10.5 ov), 6-71 (Hardik Pandya, 11.2 ov), 7-120 (Suryakumar Yadav, 15.3 ov), 8-144 (Tim David, 18.2 ov), 9-144 (Piyush Chawla, 18.3 ov), 10-145 (Gerald Coetzee, 18.5 ov) • DRS
Vaibhav Arora3035011.6655111
Mitchell Starc3.503348.60121310
Varun Chakravarthy402225.50112000
Sunil Narine402225.50112010
Andre Russell403027.50111210


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here