KKR vs DC: Knight Riders Regain Momentum with Dominant Victory over Capitals


KKR vs DC: After a high-scoring thriller in their previous match, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) returned to their traditional winning ways at Eden Gardens, securing a comprehensive seven-wicket win over Delhi Capitals in the IPL. The victory propelled KKR to second place on the table, showcasing their prowess in both batting and bowling.

Opting to bowl first, KKR’s decision proved fruitful as their bowlers capitalized on a pitch offering some grip. Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora struck early, taking three wickets in the powerplay. The spin duo of Varun Chakravarthy and Sunil Narine further tightened the noose, sharing four wickets between them and restricting Capitals to 111 for 8 at one stage.

However, an unexpected late resurgence from Capitals’ lower order, particularly Kuldeep Yadav’s unbeaten 35 off 26 balls, pushed their total beyond 150. Despite Kuldeep and Axar Patel in the Capitals’ bowling arsenal, KKR’s openers, led by Phil Salt’s explosive fifty, laid a solid foundation with a blistering 79-run opening stand.

Although Axar Patel dismissed both openers, Shreyas Iyer and Venkatesh Iyer’s unbroken 57-run partnership sealed the win for KKR with 21 balls to spare. With this victory, KKR now has 12 points from nine games, along with a net run rate of 1.096, the best in the tournament, establishing them as strong contenders in the IPL.

KKR vs DC: Full Scorecard

Delhi Capitals  (20 ovs maximum)

Prithvi Shaw c †Salt b Arora1371030185.71
Jake Fraser-McGurk c VR Iyer b Starc1271811171.42
Abishek Porel b Harshit Rana18152821120.00
Shai Hope b Arora63301200.00
Rishabh Pant (c)†c SS Iyer b Varun27203221135.00
Axar Patel b Narine1521302071.42
Tristan Stubbs c †Salt b Varun4770057.14
Kumar Kushagra c †Salt b Varun1390033.33
Kuldeep Yadav not out35263651134.61
Rasikh Salam c SS Iyer b Harshit Rana810211080.00
Lizaad Williams not out1280050.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 1, w 9)13
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.65)153/9
Did not bat: Khaleel Ahmed 
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Prithvi Shaw, 1.3 ov), 2-30 (Jake Fraser-McGurk, 2.5 ov), 3-37 (Shai Hope, 3.3 ov), 4-68 (Abishek Porel, 6.4 ov), 5-93 (Rishabh Pant, 10.1 ov), 6-99 (Tristan Stubbs, 12.1 ov), 7-101 (Axar Patel, 13.3 ov), 8-111 (Kumar Kushagra, 14.3 ov), 9-140 (Rasikh Salam, 18.2 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc3043114.3365220
Vaibhav Arora402927.25154121
Harshit Rana402827.00113110
Sunil Narine402416.0091100
Varun Chakravarthy401634.00131000
Andre Russell1010010.0032000

Kolkata Knight Riders  (T: 154 runs from 20 ovs)

Phil Salt †b Patel68334275206.06
Sunil Narine c Fraser-McGurk b Patel15103430150.00
Rinku Singh c Kuldeep Yadav b Williams11111310100.00
Shreyas Iyer (c)not out33233331143.47
Venkatesh Iyer not out26232721113.04
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 1)4
TOTAL16.3 Ov (RR: 9.51)157/3
Did not bat: Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Angkrish Raghuvanshi 
Fall of wickets: 1-79 (Sunil Narine, 6.1 ov), 2-96 (Phil Salt, 8.1 ov), 3-100 (Rinku Singh, 9.2 ov) • DRS
Lizaad Williams3038112.6673311
Khaleel Ahmed302809.3394100
Rasikh Salam2.3030012.0034100
Axar Patel402526.25103000
Kuldeep Yadav403408.5082200


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here