IPL Final: CSK beat GT by 5 wickets to clinch their 5th title

IPL Final

IPL Final: Chennai Super Kings tied Mumbai Indians’ record for most IPL titles as Ravindra Jadeja hit 4 of the last delivery of the IPL final.

Sai Sudharsan scored 96 runs off just 47 balls to help Gujarat Titans to a massive score of 214/4.

The 23-year-old Chennai native made the most of the final few overs by slamming eight fours and six sixes in his innings. On a day when his talented opening partner Shubman Gill was limited to a score of 39 off 20, Wriddhiman Saha hit 54 off 39. The GT innings only experienced a few light drizzles, which didn’t lead to any kind of interruptions. 

However, with heavy rain pouring down on the stadium, play was eventually stopped after the third ball of the first over of the CSK innings.

 Even though the actual downpour didn’t stay long, the damp outfield—in particular, a poor practise pitch near the edge of the square—led to the worst holdup. In the end, the game was cut down to 15 overs, and CSK’s target was reduced to 171. When the contest eventually resumed, it was a see-saw battle.

Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, and Ambati Rayudu all contributed important runs to CSK’s victory, but Mohit Sharma always came up with crucial wickets when it appeared that the opposition was winning easily.

The final over was again bowled by Mohit, who reduced the score to CSK needing 10 runs off the final two balls to win. Ravindra Jadeja, though, went on to hit the second-to-last ball for a six and the final ball for a four, helping CSK win by five wickets and claim their fifth championship. CSK have now won 5 trophies and have been in a record 10 IPL Finals.

IPL Final Scorecard: CSK vs GT

Gujarat Titans  (20 ovs maximum)

Wriddhiman Saha †c †Dhoni b Chahar54396351138.46
Shubman Gill st †Dhoni b Jadeja39203470195.00
Sai Sudharsan lbw b Pathirana96475886204.25
Hardik Pandya (c)not out21123202175.00
Rashid Khan c Gaikwad b Pathirana022000.00
Extras(b 1, lb 1, w 2)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.70)214/4
Did not bat: Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami, Josh Little 
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Shubman Gill, 6.6 ov), 2-131 (Wriddhiman Saha, 13.6 ov), 3-212 (Sai Sudharsan, 19.3 ov), 4-214 (Rashid Khan, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Deepak Chahar403819.5053100
Tushar Deshpande4056014.0047300
Maheesh Theekshana403609.0083200
Ravindra Jadeja403819.5033100
Matheesha Pathirana4044211.0074220

Chennai Super Kings  (T: 171 runs from 15 ovs)

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Rashid Khan b Noor Ahmad26163031162.50
Devon Conway c Sharma b Noor Ahmad47253442188.00
Shivam Dube not out32214902152.38
Ajinkya Rahane c Shankar b Sharma27132022207.69
Ambati Rayudu c & b Sharma198812237.50
MS Dhoni (c)†c Miller b Sharma011000.00
Ravindra Jadeja not out1561411250.00
Extras(lb 1, w 4)5
TOTAL15 Ov (RR: 11.40)171/5
Did not bat: Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 6.3 ov), 2-78 (Devon Conway, 6.6 ov), 3-117 (Ajinkya Rahane, 10.5 ov), 4-149 (Ambati Rayudu, 12.4 ov), 5-149 (MS Dhoni, 12.5 ov) • DRS
Mohammed Shami302909.6654000
Hardik Pandya1014014.0011110
Rashid Khan3044014.6624300
Noor Ahmad301725.6660030
Josh Little2030015.0010300
Mohit Sharma3036312.0042300

For more IPL news, follow 12betindia.

Also, check out 12cricket.com for the best Cricket news and updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here