IPL 2024 QUALIFIER 1: Mitchell Starc Sparks Batting Collapse as KKR Cruise to IPL 2024 Final

IPL 2024 QUALIFIER 1: Mitchell Starc Sparks Batting Collapse as KKR Cruise to IPL 2024 Final

IPL 2024 Qualifier 1: At the Narendra Modi Stadium, Australia’s Mitchell Starc ignited a dramatic batting collapse for Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 1. Starc took three crucial wickets inside the powerplay, reducing SRH to a precarious 45-4 within the first six overs.

As Starc emerged as the standout bowler for Kolkata Knight Riders, spinner Varun Chakaravarthy further tightened the screws, achieving 20 dismissals in the IPL 2024. Chakaravarthy, alongside Sunil Narine, shared three wickets, limiting SRH’s total. Despite a valiant 55-run knock from Rahul Tripathi and a quickfire 30 from Pat Cummins, SRH managed to post 159 in 19.3 overs.

In response, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, replacing Phil Salt as Sunil Narine’s opening partner, smashed 23 off 14 balls, propelling KKR to 63-1 in the powerplay. However, Gurbaz was dismissed by pacer T Natarajan. This marked the ninth instance of KKR surpassing the 60-run mark in the powerplay this season.

Narine contributed with an entertaining 16-ball 21, setting the stage for explosive half-centuries from Venkatesh Iyer and Shreyas Iyer. Venkatesh blasted 51 off 28 balls, while Shreyas played a captain’s knock of 58 off 24 deliveries, guiding KKR to a commanding eight-wicket victory. With this emphatic win, the two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders have secured their spot in the IPL final for the fourth time.


Sunrisers Hyderabad  (20 ovs maximum)

Travis Head b Starc021000.00
Abhishek Sharma c Russell b Arora34110075.00
Rahul Tripathi run out (Russell/†Rahmanullah Gurbaz)55356371157.14
Nitish Kumar Reddy c †Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Starc910161090.00
Shahbaz Ahmed b Starc011000.00
Heinrich Klaasen †c Singh b Varun32212631152.38
Abdul Samad c SS Iyer b Harshit Rana16121602133.33
Sanvir Singh b Narine011000.00
Pat Cummins (c)c †Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Russell30242922125.00
Bhuvneshwar Kumar lbw b Varun046000.00
Vijayakanth Viyaskanth not out751600140.00
Extras(nb 2, w 5)7
TOTAL19.3 Ov (RR: 8.15)159
Did not bat: T Natarajan 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Travis Head, 0.2 ov), 2-13 (Abhishek Sharma, 1.5 ov), 3-39 (Nitish Kumar Reddy, 4.5 ov), 4-39 (Shahbaz Ahmed, 4.6 ov), 5-101 (Heinrich Klaasen, 10.6 ov), 6-121 (Rahul Tripathi, 13.2 ov), 7-121 (Sanvir Singh, 13.3 ov), 8-125 (Abdul Samad, 14.4 ov), 9-126 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 15.6 ov), 10-159 (Pat Cummins, 19.3 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc403438.50115110
Vaibhav Arora201718.5051021
Harshit Rana402716.7592110
Sunil Narine4040110.0072300
Andre Russell1.3015110.0022000
Varun Chakravarthy402626.5091111

Kolkata Knight Riders  (T: 160 runs from 20 ovs)

Rahmanullah Gurbaz †c Viyaskanth b Natarajan23141922164.28
Sunil Narine c Viyaskanth b Cummins21163640131.25
Venkatesh Iyer not out51284854182.14
Shreyas Iyer (c)not out58243154241.66
Extras(lb 9, w 2)11
TOTAL13.4 Ov (RR: 12.00)164/2
Did not bat: Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy 
Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 3.2 ov), 2-67 (Sunil Narine, 6.2 ov) • DRS
Bhuvneshwar Kumar302809.3394100
Pat Cummins3038112.6665210
T Natarajan302217.33113110
Vijayakanth Viyaskanth2022011.0010200
Travis Head1.4032019.2023300
Nitish Kumar Reddy1013013.0011100


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here