IPL 2024 Final: Starc Stars as KKR Thump SRH in The Most One-Sided IPL Final Ever

IPL 2024 Final: Starc Stars as KKR Thump SRH in Most One-Sided IPL Final Ever

IPL 2024 final: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) romped to a historic victory in the IPL 2024 final, dismantling Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by a massive margin. The win, built on a dominant bowling performance led by Mitchell Starc, marks KKR’s third IPL title and the most one-sided final in the tournament’s history.

Starc’s Searing Pace Wrecks SRH Top Order

Starc, arguably the best bowler of the season, wasted no time showcasing his brilliance. He dismissed Abhishek Sharma with the very first ball of the match, a swinging delivery that left the batsman helpless. In his next over, Starc produced another unplayable delivery, trapping SRH captain Kane Williamson plumb lbw.

Arora Joins the Party, SRH Crumble Early

Shivam Mavi, partnering Starc, kept the pressure on by dismissing Aiden Markram cheaply. Youngster Harshit Rana, introduced in the powerplay, picked up the crucial wicket of Nitish Reddy, further derailing the SRH innings. Openers Abhishek Sharma and Kane Williamson were dismissed for golden ducks, highlighting the devastating impact of KKR’s pace attack.

Venkatesh Iyer Blitz Seals the Deal

Reduced to 40/3 after the powerplay, SRH’s hopes of a comeback were dashed. Chasing a paltry 114 (SRH’s lowest ever IPL final score), KKR openers Venkatesh Iyer and Rahmanullah Gurbaz tore into the SRH bowling attack. Iyer, in particular, was unstoppable, smashing a blistering 52 off just 26 balls, including two sixes off Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the third over. The pair put on a record 72-run partnership in the powerplay, effectively sealing the win for KKR.

KKR Triumphs, Shreyas Iyer Gets Redemption

With wickets falling at regular intervals, Shreyas Iyer, the KKR captain, guided his team home with an unbeaten knock. This victory marks a significant moment for Shreyas, who had lost his place in the Indian national team earlier this year. The win not only adds another IPL trophy to KKR’s cabinet but also provides Iyer with a much-needed personal triumph.

Dominant KKR Deserve the Title

KKR’s dominance throughout the tournament culminated in this emphatic victory. Their potent bowling attack, led by Starc, proved too much to handle for SRH. The win also highlights the brilliance of young talents like Iyer and Rana, who rose to the occasion in the biggest game of the season.

IPL 2024 Final: Full Scorecard

Sunrisers Hyderabad  (20 ovs maximum)

Abhishek Sharma b Starc2530040.00
Travis Head c †Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Arora0111000.00
Rahul Tripathi c Ramandeep Singh b Starc913211069.23
Aiden Markram c Starc b Russell2023413086.95
Nitish Kumar Reddy c †Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Harshit Rana13101411130.00
Heinrich Klaasen †b Harshit Rana1617321094.11
Shahbaz Ahmed c Narine b Varun87501114.28
Abdul Samad c †Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Russell44300100.00
Pat Cummins (c)c Starc b Russell24192821126.31
Jaydev Unadkat lbw b Narine411160036.36
Bhuvneshwar Kumar not out013000.00
Extras(b 5, lb 2, w 6)13
TOTAL18.3 Ov (RR: 6.10)113
Did not bat: T Natarajan 
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Abhishek Sharma, 0.5 ov), 2-6 (Travis Head, 1.6 ov), 3-21 (Rahul Tripathi, 4.2 ov), 4-47 (Nitish Kumar Reddy, 6.6 ov), 5-62 (Aiden Markram, 10.2 ov), 6-71 (Shahbaz Ahmed, 11.5 ov), 7-77 (Abdul Samad, 12.4 ov), 8-90 (Heinrich Klaasen, 14.1 ov), 9-113 (Jaydev Unadkat, 17.5 ov), 10-113 (Pat Cummins, 18.3 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc301424.66112000
Vaibhav Arora302418.0092140
Harshit Rana412426.00132110
Sunil Narine401614.0090000
Andre Russell2.301937.6071110
Varun Chakravarthy20914.5071000

Kolkata Knight Riders  (T: 114 runs from 20 ovs)

Rahmanullah Gurbaz †lbw b Shahbaz Ahmed39324652121.87
Sunil Narine c Shahbaz Ahmed b Cummins62601300.00
Venkatesh Iyer not out52264643200.00
Shreyas Iyer (c)not out63610200.00
Extras(b 4, lb 2, w 5)11
TOTAL10.3 Ov (RR: 10.85)114/2
Did not bat: Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy 
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Sunil Narine, 1.2 ov), 2-102 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 8.5 ov) • DRS
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2025012.5052210
Pat Cummins201819.0072110
T Natarajan2029014.5024120
Shahbaz Ahmed2.302218.8071200
Jaydev Unadkat10909.0011000
Aiden Markram10505.0020000


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here