IPL 2024 Eliminator: Ashwin Shines as RR Defeat RCB in Thrilling Encounter

IPL 2024 Eliminator: Ashwin Shines as RR Defeat RCB in Thrilling Encounter

IPL 2024 Eliminator: Ahmedabad Stadium witnessed a thrilling contest as Rajasthan Royals (RR) secured their place in Qualifier 2 after defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by four wickets in the Eliminator match. The game was a nail-biter, with both teams putting forth their best efforts in this knockout encounter.

Chasing a target of 179 runs, RR’s lower order played a crucial role in sealing the victory. Ravichandran Ashwin was named Player of the Match for his impressive bowling spell in the first innings. Sanju Samson’s Royals managed to restrict the formidable RCB batting lineup to 172/8, thanks to disciplined bowling and strategic field placements.

RR’s chase began steadily, with Yashasvi Jaiswal forming strong partnerships with Tom Kohler-Cadmore and captain Sanju Samson. However, RCB made a strong comeback in the middle overs, dismissing both Jaiswal and Samson in quick succession. A brilliant run-out by Virat Kohli sent Dhruv Jurel back to the pavilion, intensifying the pressure on RR.

With 58 runs needed off the last six overs, Riyan Parag and Shimron Hetmyer took the crease. Despite RCB’s exceptional fielding and the challenges RR faced in running between the wickets, Parag and Hetmyer held their nerve to guide their team to victory.

Earlier in the match, Avesh Khan recovered from an expensive start to take three wickets, while Ashwin finished with impressive figures of 2/19. Virat Kohli scored 33 off 24 balls, and Rajat Patidar contributed 34 off 22. Mahipal Lomror added a late boost with a 17-ball 32, but RR’s bowlers ensured RCB could not establish a stable partnership at any point.

IPL 2024 Eliminator: Full Scorecard

Royal Challengers Bengaluru  (20 ovs maximum)

Virat Kohli c sub (D Ferreira) b Chahal33243431137.50
Faf du Plessis (c)c Powell b Boult17142221121.42
Cameron Green c Powell b Ashwin27213321128.57
Rajat Patidar c Parag b Avesh Khan34223222154.54
Glenn Maxwell c Jurel b Ashwin011000.00
Mahipal Lomror c Powell b Avesh Khan32174622188.23
Dinesh Karthik †c Jaiswal b Avesh Khan1113231084.61
Swapnil Singh not out94901225.00
Karn Sharma c Powell b Sandeep Sharma54610125.00
Extras(lb 2, w 2)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.60)172/8
Did not bat: Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson 
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Faf du Plessis, 4.4 ov), 2-56 (Virat Kohli, 7.2 ov), 3-97 (Cameron Green, 12.3 ov), 4-97 (Glenn Maxwell, 12.4 ov), 5-122 (Rajat Patidar, 14.2 ov), 6-154 (Dinesh Karthik, 18.2 ov), 7-159 (Mahipal Lomror, 18.5 ov), 8-172 (Karn Sharma, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Trent Boult401614.00141000
Sandeep Sharma4048112.0035200
Avesh Khan4044311.0065200
Ravichandran Ashwin401924.7590020
Yuzvendra Chahal4043110.7572400

Rajasthan Royals  (T: 173 runs from 20 ovs)

Yashasvi Jaiswal c †Karthik b Green45304580150.00
Tom Kohler-Cadmore b Ferguson20152640133.33
Sanju Samson (c)†st †Karthik b Sharma17132301130.76
Riyan Parag b Mohammed Siraj36264822138.46
Dhruv Jurel run out (Kohli/Green)881910100.00
Shimron Hetmyer c du Plessis b Mohammed Siraj26142831185.71
Rovman Powell not out168821200.00
Ravichandran Ashwin not out00300
Extras(lb 1, w 5)6
TOTAL19 Ov (RR: 9.15)174/6
Did not bat: Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma 
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Tom Kohler-Cadmore, 5.3 ov), 2-81 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 9.2 ov), 3-86 (Sanju Samson, 10 ov), 4-112 (Dhruv Jurel, 13.1 ov), 5-157 (Riyan Parag, 17.2 ov), 6-160 (Shimron Hetmyer, 17.6 ov) • DRS
Swapnil Singh201909.5042100
Mohammed Siraj403328.2574030
Yash Dayal3037012.3358000
Lockie Ferguson403719.2593200
Karn Sharma201919.5012020
Cameron Green402817.0091200

RR’s victory sets up an exciting clash in Qualifier 2, keeping their hopes alive in the tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here