India’s T20I squad for Afghanistan: Kohli and Rohit Return

India’s T20I squad for Afghanistan

India’s T20I squad for Afghanistan: India have named their 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, with star batsmen Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli making their comeback to the shortest format.

Rohit, who will captain the side, and Kohli, who will bat at number three, have not played any international T20 matches since the T20 World Cup in 2023. They will bolster India’s batting line-up, which also includes young talents like Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma and Rinku Singh.

India will miss the services of all-rounder Hardik Pandya and middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav, who are both sidelined with injuries.

The selectors have also not selected Ravindra Jadeja, who was the vice-captain and the leading wicket-taker for India in the T20I series against South Africa.

Wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson has earned a recall to the squad. He will compete with Jitesh Sharma, who made his debut in the second T20I against South Africa, for the gloves. Shivam Dube has also been retained as a seam-bowling all-rounder.

India have rested their premier fast bowlers Mohammed Siraj and Jasprit Bumrah, who played a vital role in India’s emphatic win over South Africa in the second and final Test at Cape Town on Thursday. The duo are likely to return to the Test squad, which will take on England in a five-match series starting from January 25.

The pace attack for the T20I series against Afghanistan will be led by Arshdeep Singh, who impressed with his variations and yorkers in the IPL 2023. He will be supported by Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar.

The three T20Is against Afghanistan will be India’s only international matches before the 2024 World Cup in June. The series will kick off on January 11 at Mohali, followed by the second match on January 14 at Indore and the third match on January 17 at Bengaluru.

India’s T20I squad for Afghanistan: Rohit Sharma ©, Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Follow for all the latest news and updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here