IND vs PAK: India crush Pakistan in World Cup mismatch in Ahmedabad


IND vs PAK: India thrashed Pakistan by seven wickets in a lopsided World Cup match in Ahmedabad. The match was billed as the most anticipated clash of the tournament, but it turned out to be a one-sided affair.

Pakistan have never beaten India in a men’s 50-over World Cup, and they failed to break the jinx once again. They were well placed at 155-2 in the massive Narendra Modi Stadium, but then collapsed spectacularly. Skipper Babar Azam was the first to go, bowled by Mohammed Siraj for 50. He triggered a slide of eight wickets for 36 runs, as Pakistan were bowled out for 191. Siraj was among five India bowlers who took two wickets each.

The chase was a walk in the park for the formidable India batting line-up. Even though Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli fell for 16 each, captain Rohit Sharma played a brilliant knock of 86 to seal the deal. He added 77 for the third wicket with Shreyas Iyer, who remained unbeaten on 53. India reached the target with almost 20 overs to spare.

This was India’s eighth consecutive win over Pakistan in World Cups, a streak that dates back to 1992. It was also their third win in three games in this year’s edition. They are now level with New Zealand at the top of the group table and will face Afghanistan next on Thursday.

Pakistan suffered their first loss at this World Cup, but it was a crushing blow to their morale and pride. They will have to regroup quickly and take on Australia in Bengaluru on Friday. This was a terrible day for Pakistan, one that could have serious implications for their World Cup campaign and Babar’s captaincy. They are used to losing to India in World Cup matches, but this was a rout.

The batting meltdown was a timid display, a flurry of rash shots that exposed their reliance on Babar and Rizwan. Apart from the top four, only Hassan managed to reach double digits.

Their bowling and fielding also fell apart as the game progressed. They have only lost to India by more balls remaining than these 117 on one other occasion in ODIs.

Before this match, Pakistan had won matches that they were expected to win, against Netherlands and Sri Lanka. But when they faced their first real challenge of the tournament, they were found wanting.

IND vs PAK: Full Scorecard

Pakistan  (50 ovs maximum)

Abdullah Shafique lbw b Mohammed Siraj2024393083.33
Imam-ul-Haq c †Rahul b Pandya3638646094.73
Babar Azam (c)b Mohammed Siraj5058897086.20
Mohammad Rizwan †b Bumrah4969897071.01
Saud Shakeel lbw b Kuldeep Yadav610120060.00
Iftikhar Ahmed b Kuldeep Yadav44210100.00
Shadab Khan b Bumrah25110040.00
Mohammad Nawaz c Bumrah b Pandya414250028.57
Hasan Ali c Shubman Gill b Jadeja1219212063.15
Shaheen Shah Afridi not out210120020.00
Haris Rauf lbw b Jadeja2690033.33
Extras(b 1, lb 2, w 1)4
TOTAL42.5 Ov (RR: 4.45)191
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Abdullah Shafique, 7.6 ov), 2-73 (Imam-ul-Haq, 12.3 ov), 3-155 (Babar Azam, 29.4 ov), 4-162 (Saud Shakeel, 32.2 ov), 5-166 (Iftikhar Ahmed, 32.6 ov), 6-168 (Mohammad Rizwan, 33.6 ov), 7-171 (Shadab Khan, 35.2 ov), 8-187 (Mohammad Nawaz, 39.6 ov), 9-187 (Hasan Ali, 40.1 ov), 10-191 (Haris Rauf, 42.5 ov) • DRS
Jasprit Bumrah711922.71333010
Mohammed Siraj805026.25227000
Hardik Pandya603425.66206000
Kuldeep Yadav1003523.50384000
Ravindra Jadeja9.503823.86354000
Shardul Thakur201206.0062000

India  (T: 192 runs from 50 ovs)

Rohit Sharma (c)c Iftikhar Ahmed b Shaheen Shah Afridi86639166136.50
Shubman Gill c Shadab Khan b Shaheen Shah Afridi16111140145.45
Virat Kohli c Mohammad Nawaz b Hasan Ali1618313088.88
Shreyas Iyer not out5362803285.48
KL Rahul †not out1929332065.51
Extras(lb 1, w 1)2
TOTAL30.3 Ov (RR: 6.29)192/3
Did not bat: Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj 
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Shubman Gill, 2.5 ov), 2-79 (Virat Kohli, 9.5 ov), 3-156 (Rohit Sharma, 21.4 ov) • DRS
Shaheen Shah Afridi603626.00215110
Hasan Ali603415.66237000
Mohammad Nawaz8.304705.52233200
Haris Rauf604307.16141300
Shadab Khan403107.75102200

Follow for all the latest news and updates on the ICC cricket world cup 2023


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here