IND vs AUS 3rd Test Day 1: India dismissed for 109 as Australia lead by 47


Australia seized control of the third Test match against India in Indore on the first day, which saw 14 wickets fall.

Matthew Kuhnemann claimed his first five-wicket Test haul as the hosts were bowled out for 109 in 33.2 overs after losing nine wickets to spin.

The Indian innings got off to an eventful start as Rohit Sharma edged the opening ball of the test. Alex Carey and Mitchell Starc, didn’t take the review because they were unsure. Sharma then escaped a close lbw call as replays revealed he was certainly out. Along with Shubhman Gill, who replaced KL Rahul, they scored several beautiful boundaries. Rohit then attempted to blast Matthew Kuhnemann down the track, but he totally missed the ball and was stumped behind the wicket.

Shubman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara went quickly as they true nature of the Indore pitch revealed itself. Ravindra Jadeja came in at number 5 but was caught of Kuhnemann having survived an lbw call the ball before. Virat Kohli looked assured in his defence and put up a small recovery before he was dismissed by Todd Murphy. Axar Patel was solid as always but hardly had any support as India crumbled to 109.

India’s total was the fourth-lowest in 15 years at home, with four single-digit scores.

Nathan Lyon got three wickets for Australia and Todd Murphy got one as Mohammed Siraj was run out to end the innings shortly after lunch.

In response, Australian opener Usman Khawaja scored 60 runs before losing his wicket to one of spinner Ravindra Jadeja’s four, helping Australia to 156-4 in response, leading them to a f 47-run lead.

Australia lost Travis Head early in the match who replaced David Warner as he was ruled out with a concussion and a fractured elbow.

Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne (31) set up 96 runs for the second wicket before Steve Smith, who is captaining the team in place of Pat Cummins in Australia, was dismissed by Jadeja in the last session.

India has a 2-0 series lead after dominating matches in Delhi and Nagpur.

Usman Khawaja: “It’s hard out there”

IND vs AUS 3rd Test Day 1
Usman Khawaja played brilliantly to score 60

“Played to my plans, tried to score when there was an opportunity and kept out the good balls. Not rocket science, honestly. Not an easy wicket out there. Spin-friendly wicket, it felt tough the whole time and I don’t expect it to get better.”

I used the sweep intermittently when I needed to today, did the similar thing last week. It’s just another arsenal in your repertoire. It’s hard enough out there, bowler keeps you guessing, I was trying to keep them guessing too. It was a bit of a cat and mouse.”

Full Scorecard: Ind vs Aus, 3rd test

India 1st Innings 

Rohit Sharma (c)st †Carey b Kuhnemann12233052.17
Shubman Gill c Smith b Kuhnemann211830116.66
Cheteshwar Pujara b Lyon140025.00
Virat Kohli lbw b Murphy22522042.30
Ravindra Jadeja c Kuhnemann b Lyon490044.44
Shreyas Iyer b Kuhnemann02000.00
Srikar Bharat †lbw b Lyon17301156.66
Axar Patel not out12331036.36
Ravichandran Ashwin c †Carey b Kuhnemann3120025.00
Umesh Yadav lbw b Kuhnemann171312130.76
Mohammed Siraj run out (Head/Lyon)04000.00
TOTAL33.2 Ov (RR: 3.27)109
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Rohit Sharma, 5.6 ov), 2-34 (Shubman Gill, 7.2 ov), 3-36 (Cheteshwar Pujara, 8.2 ov), 4-44 (Ravindra Jadeja, 10.5 ov), 5-45 (Shreyas Iyer, 11.2 ov), 6-70 (Virat Kohli, 21.4 ov), 7-82 (Srikar Bharat, 24.5 ov), 8-88 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 28.3 ov), 9-108 (Umesh Yadav, 32.2 ov), 10-109 (Mohammed Siraj, 33.2 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc502104.2000
Cameron Green201407.0000
Matthew Kuhnemann921651.7700
Nathan Lyon11.223533.0800
Todd Murphy612313.8300

Australia 1st Innings 

Travis Head lbw b Jadeja9610150.00
Usman Khawaja c Shubman Gill b Jadeja601474040.81
Marnus Labuschagne b Jadeja31911034.06
Steven Smith (c)c †Bharat b Jadeja26384068.42
Peter Handscomb not out7360019.44
Cameron Green not out6100060.00
Extras(b 9, lb 4, nb 4)17
TOTAL54 Ov (RR: 2.88)156/4
Yet to bat: Alex Carey †, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Matthew Kuhnemann 
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Travis Head, 1.4 ov), 2-108 (Marnus Labuschagne, 34.3 ov), 3-125 (Usman Khawaja, 42.3 ov), 4-146 (Steven Smith, 48.5 ov) • DRS
Ravichandran Ashwin1624002.5000
Ravindra Jadeja2466342.6202
Axar Patel902903.2200
Umesh Yadav20402.0000
Mohammed Siraj30702.3302

Online Cricket Betting Apps

If you are interested in online cricket betting or want to do cricket betting predictions, try

Also read the full analysis for the Rajasthan Royals


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here