IND vs AUS 3RD ODI: Australia beat India by 21 runs to win the series 2-1


Australia defeated India by 21 runs in the third and final one-day international to win the series 2-1. Adam Zampa (4/45) excelled with the ball as Australia bowled India out for 248 in 49.1 overs while chasing a target of 269.

The Australian top-order batters got starts but failed to make an impact. Travis Head made 33 runs off 31 balls in the first inning, while Mitchell Marsh scored the most runs per ball with 47.

Wicket-keeper Alex Carey (38), Marnus Labuschagne (28), Marcus Stoinis (25), and David Warner (23) all played well before losing their wickets.

Sean Abbott (26) and Ashton Agar (17) also contributed near the end to help Australia pass the 250-run mark before being bowled out in 49 overs.

India in their chase started well with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill putting on 65 for the first wicket. But wickets fell on regular intervals as Australia crawled their way back into the game. Virat looked good scoring a brisk 54 but he too was dismissed trying to up the ante. Rohit(30), Gill (37), and Pandya(40) all managed to get decent starts but threw their wickets away.

Zampa and Agar bowled good line and length as it became evident that scoring against spin was not easy. Stonis and Starc bowled well from the other end as Indian batsmen struggled. The lower order didn’t provide any resistance as Australia completed the series victory in Style.

IND vs AUS 3RD ODI: Australia beat India by 21 runs to win the series 2-1 2

Steven Smith, the series-winning captain: “It has been an enjoyable tour. The way we fought back after that (Delhi) Test match. It is just playing conditions for us. This wicket was different… I thought we left a few out there. It was just a really good performance. We continued taking wickets throughout… The way the tail stuck around and got us to 270; at one point, we weren’t getting to 220”

Mitchell Marsh is the Player of the Series for 194 runs: “It is just natural aggression when I’m batting. Growing up at the WACA… I have thouroughly enjoyed it. I was really glad that I could come in and perform. I’m coming off an extended break. Sometimes in international cricket, you need time to do that. I have come fresh, and provided energy”

Adam Zampa is the Player of the Match for his 4 for 45: “I have had some success here. It is a tough place to come from; always a huge challenge. I have had some rewards… Ashton Agar changed the game. I don’t think I deserve this tonight. Kudos to the guys who bowled before me as well. We had trust in each other, in our process, and in our game plan.”

Rohit Sharma speaks first: “I don’t think it was too many runs. The wicket was a little challenging toward the second half. I don’t think we batted well. Partnerships are crucial, and we failed to do that today. The mode of dismissals… you are born and brought up on these wickets. Sometimes you need to apply yourself and give yourself a chance.

It was important for one batter to carry on and take the game deep. But all of us were trying our best; it just didn’t happen. The nine ODIs we have played since January, we can take a lot of positives from that. It is a collective failure. In five months’ time, we’ll be playing in these conditions. You’ve got to give credit to the Australians as well.”

The result means that Australia overtakes India as the Number 1 team in ODI. They also end India’s streak of seven series victories stretching back to 2019.

Full Scorecard: IND vs AUS 3RD ODI

Australia  (50 ovs maximum)

Travis Head c Kuldeep Yadav b Pandya33315642106.45
Mitchell Marsh b Pandya47477981100.00
Steven Smith (c)c †Rahul b Pandya0310000.00
David Warner c Pandya b Kuldeep Yadav2331571074.19
Marnus Labuschagne c Shubman Gill b Kuldeep Yadav2845581162.22
Alex Carey †b Kuldeep Yadav3846662182.60
Marcus Stoinis c Shubman Gill b Patel2526393096.15
Sean Abbott b Patel26234421113.04
Ashton Agar c Patel b Mohammed Siraj1721390180.95
Mitchell Starc c Jadeja b Mohammed Siraj1011220190.90
Adam Zampa not out1011191090.90
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 7)12
TOTAL49 Ov (RR: 5.48)269
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Travis Head, 10.5 ov), 2-74 (Steven Smith, 12.2 ov), 3-85 (Mitchell Marsh, 14.3 ov), 4-125 (David Warner, 24.3 ov), 5-138 (Marnus Labuschagne, 28.1 ov), 6-196 (Marcus Stoinis, 36.6 ov), 7-203 (Alex Carey, 38.1 ov), 8-245 (Sean Abbott, 44.6 ov), 9-247 (Ashton Agar, 45.3 ov), 10-269 (Mitchell Starc, 48.6 ov) • DRS
Mohammed Shami603706.16234200
Mohammed Siraj713725.28286100
Axar Patel805727.12243401
Hardik Pandya804435.50244010
Ravindra Jadeja1003403.40311010
Kuldeep Yadav1015635.60304110

India  (T: 270 runs from 50 ovs)

Rohit Sharma (c)c Starc b Abbott30174422176.47
Shubman Gill lbw b Zampa3749624175.51
Virat Kohli c Warner b Agar54721182175.00
KL Rahul †c Abbott b Zampa3250662164.00
Axar Patel run out (Smith/†Carey)2480050.00
Hardik Pandya c Smith b Zampa40407831100.00
Suryakumar Yadav b Agar012000.00
Ravindra Jadeja c Stoinis b Zampa1833601054.54
Kuldeep Yadav run out (Stoinis/†Carey)615330040.00
Mohammed Shami b Stoinis14101311140.00
Mohammed Siraj not out3580060.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 9)12
TOTAL49.1 Ov (RR: 5.04)248
Fall of wickets: 1-65 (Rohit Sharma, 9.1 ov), 2-77 (Shubman Gill, 12.2 ov), 3-146 (KL Rahul, 27.5 ov), 4-151 (Axar Patel, 28.5 ov), 5-185 (Virat Kohli, 35.1 ov), 6-185 (Suryakumar Yadav, 35.2 ov), 7-218 (Hardik Pandya, 43.4 ov), 8-225 (Ravindra Jadeja, 45.1 ov), 9-243 (Mohammed Shami, 47.5 ov), 10-248 (Kuldeep Yadav, 49.1 ov) • DRS
Mitchell Starc1006706.70345360
Marcus Stoinis9.104314.69313101
Sean Abbott1005015.00303110
Adam Zampa1004544.50292100
Ashton Agar1004124.10332100

Also read about IPL 2023 jerseys.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here