ICC T20 World Cup Winners From 2007 – 2024


ICC T20 World Cup Winners: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, a spectacle of high-octane cricket condensed into the thrilling format of Twenty20, has witnessed a constant battle for ultimate supremacy. Since its inception in 2007, the coveted trophy has been hoisted by several cricketing giants, each etching their names in the history books. Let’s delve into the illustrious list of champions:

Full List of ICC T20 World Cup Winners

2007: India – The Inaugural Kings

The inaugural edition, held in South Africa, saw a young Indian team led by the enigmatic MS Dhoni script history. They defied all odds, defeating a formidable Pakistan side in a nail-biting final by just five runs. This victory marked the beginning of India’s dominance in the shortest format of the game.

2009: Pakistan – Rising to the Occasion

Two years later, Pakistan, led by Younis Khan, emerged victorious in England. They displayed exceptional grit and determination throughout the tournament, culminating in a convincing victory over Sri Lanka in the final. This win showcased the immense talent pool Pakistan possesses.

2010: England – The First European Champions

The Caribbean hosted the 2010 edition, where England, under the captaincy of Paul Collingwood, emerged as the new kings. They displayed a well-rounded performance, defeating Australia in a comfortable seven-wicket victory in the final. This win marked a significant moment for European cricket on the world stage.

2012 & 2016: West Indies – Kings of Caribbean Flair

The Windies, known for their flamboyant style of play and explosive batting, reigned supreme in both the 2012 and 2016 editions. Led by the charismatic Darren Sammy in both tournaments, they showcased their unmatched power-hitting and dominant bowling attacks.

2014: Sri Lanka – The Lions Triumph

Sri Lanka, under the leadership of Angelo Mathews, roared to victory in Bangladesh in 2014. They displayed a blend of experience and youthful exuberance, defeating India in a thrilling final by six wickets. This win cemented Sri Lanka’s position as a force to be reckoned with in T20 cricket.

2021: Australia – Debut Title on the Big Stage

The United Arab Emirates hosted the 2021 edition, where Australia, led by Aaron Finch, clinched their first-ever T20 World Cup title. They dominated the tournament, showcasing their all-round capabilities and defeating New Zealand in the final by a convincing eight-wicket margin.

2022 (England) – The Current Champions

The most recent edition, held in Australia, saw England reclaim the coveted trophy. Under the captaincy of Jos Buttler, they displayed exceptional composure and tactical brilliance. They defeated Pakistan in the final by a narrow five-wicket margin, further solidifying their position as a powerhouse in T20 cricket.

How many T20 World Cup winners are there?

As of the latest tournament in 2024, the list of T20 World Cup winners is as follows:

  • West Indies: 2 titles
  • England: 2 titles
  • India: 1 title
  • Pakistan: 1 title
  • Sri Lanka: 1 title
  • Australia: 1 title

The West Indies and England stand at the pinnacle with two titles each, showcasing their consistency and dominance in the T20 format.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup continues to be a platform for cricketing excellence and national pride. Each champion embodies the spirit of the game, showcasing exceptional skills and unwavering determination. As the cricketing world gears up for the upcoming edition, one thing remains certain – the battle for T20 supremacy promises to be a thrilling spectacle.

Also read, Top 10 Players with Most Wickets at T20 World Cup


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here