DC vs RR: Fraser-McGurk Stars as Delhi Capitals Outclass Rajasthan Royals


DC vs RR: Arun Jaitley Stadium witnessed a thrilling showdown between the Delhi Capitals and the Rajasthan Royals in match No. 56 of the Indian Premier League. Led by an explosive innings from Jake Fraser-McGurk, Delhi Capitals launched a relentless assault on the Rajasthan Royals’ bowlers after Sanju Samson won the toss and opted to field first.

Fraser-McGurk’s blitzkrieg saw him hammer a half-century off just 19 balls, laying the foundation for Delhi Capitals to reach 78-2 within the powerplay. Despite the early onslaught, Rajasthan Royals’ bowlers clawed their way back into the game, picking up two crucial wickets in the first six overs. With David Warner absent, Axar Patel was sent up the order following Shai Hope’s unfortunate run-out.

Opening in Warner’s absence, Abishek Porel played a dynamic innings, scoring 65 runs, while Tristan Stubbs’ quickfire 41 off 20 balls powered Delhi Capitals to a challenging total of 221-8 in 20 overs. Veteran spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the standout bowler for Rajasthan Royals, claiming three wickets for 24 runs.

In their chase of 222, Rajasthan Royals suffered an early setback with Yashasvi Jaiswal departing in the first over to Khaleel Ahmed. Rasikh Salam then dismissed Riyan Parag, and Axar Patel sent Jos Buttler packing in the powerplay.

However, Rajasthan Royals’ hopes were reignited by skipper Sanju Samson’s blazing knock of 86 off just 46 balls. A contentious catch by Shai Hope to dismiss Samson added to the drama. After Samson’s departure, Rovman Powell took charge of the chase for the Royals.

A game-changing 17th over by Kuldeep Yadav, followed by Mukesh Kumar’s heroics in the final over, secured a thrilling 20-run victory for Delhi Capitals. The win keeps Delhi Capitals in contention for a playoff spot, while Rajasthan Royals will be eager to bounce back in their next fixture.

DC vs RR:

Delhi Capitals  (20 ovs maximum)

Jake Fraser-McGurk c Ferreira b Ashwin50202473250.00
Abishek Porel c Sandeep Sharma b Ashwin65365973180.55
Shai Hope run out (Sandeep Sharma)11300100.00
Axar Patel c Parag b Ashwin15101511150.00
Rishabh Pant (c)†c Boult b Chahal15131901115.38
Tristan Stubbs lbw b Sandeep Sharma41203333205.00
Gulbadin Naib c Ashwin b Boult19152011126.66
Rasikh Salam run out (Dubey/†Samson)931120300.00
Kuldeep Yadav not out52410250.00
Extras(w 1)1
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 11.05)221/8
Did not bat: Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed 
Fall of wickets: 1-60 (Jake Fraser-McGurk, 4.2 ov), 2-68 (Shai Hope, 5.1 ov), 3-110 (Axar Patel, 9.2 ov), 4-144 (Abishek Porel, 12.4 ov), 5-150 (Rishabh Pant, 13.5 ov), 6-195 (Gulbadin Naib, 18.4 ov), 7-215 (Tristan Stubbs, 19.3 ov), 8-221 (Rasikh Salam, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Trent Boult4048112.0087200
Sandeep Sharma4042110.5075200
Avesh Khan2042021.0005300
Ravichandran Ashwin402436.0060100
Riyan Parag201708.5041110
Yuzvendra Chahal4048112.0054300

Rajasthan Royals  (T: 222 runs from 20 ovs)

Yashasvi Jaiswal c Patel b Ahmed4210200.00
Jos Buttler b Patel1917121111.76
Sanju Samson (c)†c Hope b Mukesh Kumar86463186186.95
Riyan Parag b Rasikh Salam27228113122.72
Shubham Dubey c Stubbs b Ahmed25121922208.33
Rovman Powell b Mukesh Kumar13103611130.00
Donovan Ferreira lbw b Kuldeep Yadav13230033.33
Ravichandran Ashwin c Hope b Kuldeep Yadav2330066.66
Trent Boult not out23130066.66
Avesh Khan not out73310233.33
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 10)15
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.05)201/8
Did not bat: Sandeep Sharma 
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 0.2 ov), 2-67 (Jos Buttler, 5.5 ov), 3-103 (Riyan Parag, 10.6 ov), 4-162 (Sanju Samson, 15.4 ov), 5-180 (Shubham Dubey, 16.4 ov), 6-181 (Donovan Ferreira, 17.1 ov), 7-185 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 17.6 ov), 8-194 (Rovman Powell, 19.2 ov) • DRS
Khaleel Ahmed4047211.7595270
Ishant Sharma3034011.3374210
Mukesh Kumar3030210.0074110
Axar Patel302518.3392200
Kuldeep Yadav402526.25100201
Rasikh Salam3036112.0061410


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here