DC vs MI: Mumbai Fall Short in High-Stakes Chase Against Delhi

DC vs MI

DC vs MI: Mumbai Indians faced a tough challenge in their chase of 258 against Delhi Capitals, ultimately falling short by 10 runs in a thrilling encounter. Delhi Capitals set an imposing target of 257/4, thanks to scintillating performances by Jake Fraser-McGurk and Tristan Stubbs.

Fraser-McGurk set the tone for Delhi’s innings by equaling his own record for the fastest IPL fifty, reaching the milestone in just 15 balls. His aggressive approach saw him smash Jasprit Bumrah for 18 runs in an over, setting the stage for Delhi’s explosive start. Despite Bumrah’s economical spell in the sixth over, Delhi Capitals were flying at 92/0 at the end of the powerplay.

Fraser-McGurk continued his onslaught, eventually scoring 84 off just 27 balls before being dismissed by Piyush Chawla. Abhishek Porel and Shai Hope also contributed with brisk innings, scoring 36 off 27 balls and 41 off 17 balls, respectively. Stubbs provided the finishing touches with an unbeaten 48 off 25 balls, ensuring Delhi Capitals posted a formidable total.

In response, Mumbai Indians got off to a strong start, scoring over 60 runs in the powerplay. However, they lost key wickets of Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar Yadav in quick succession. Hardik Pandya’s aggressive innings of 46 off 24 balls kept Mumbai’s hopes alive, but despite a late stand between Tilak Varma and Tim David, they fell short of the target, finishing at 247/9.

DC vs MI: Full Scorecard

Delhi Capitals  (20 ovs maximum)

Jake Fraser-McGurk c Mohammad Nabi b Chawla842735116311.11
Abishek Porel c †Ishan Kishan b Mohammad Nabi36274831133.33
Shai Hope c Tilak Varma b Wood41173005241.17
Rishabh Pant (c)†c Sharma b Bumrah29194222152.63
Tristan Stubbs not out48253462192.00
Axar Patel not out116901183.33
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 6)8
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 12.85)257/4
Did not bat: Kumar Kushagra, Kuldeep Yadav, Lizaad Williams, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar 
Fall of wickets: 1-114 (Jake Fraser-McGurk, 7.3 ov), 2-127 (Abishek Porel, 9.4 ov), 3-180 (Shai Hope, 13.4 ov), 4-235 (Rishabh Pant, 18.1 ov) • DRS
Luke Wood4068117.0059400
Jasprit Bumrah403518.75102221
Nuwan Thushara4056014.0036320
Piyush Chawla403619.0072220
Hardik Pandya2041020.5043400
Mohammad Nabi2020110.0020200

Mumbai Indians  (T: 258 runs from 20 ovs)

Ishan Kishan †c Patel b Mukesh Kumar20142840142.85
Rohit Sharma c Hope b Ahmed882110100.00
Suryakumar Yadav c Williams b Ahmed26131532200.00
Tilak Varma run out (sub [Sumit Kumar]/†Pant)63328244196.87
Hardik Pandya (c)c Mukesh Kumar b Rasikh Salam46242943191.66
Nehal Wadhera c †Pant b Rasikh Salam42210200.00
Tim David lbw b Mukesh Kumar37172723217.64
Mohammad Nabi c Hope b Rasikh Salam74501175.00
Piyush Chawla c Hope b Mukesh Kumar104911250.00
Luke Wood not out93301300.00
Extras(b 2, lb 2, nb 1, w 12)17
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 12.35)247/9
Did not bat: Jasprit Bumrah 
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Rohit Sharma, 3.1 ov), 2-45 (Ishan Kishan, 4.1 ov), 3-65 (Suryakumar Yadav, 5.6 ov), 4-136 (Hardik Pandya, 12.3 ov), 5-140 (Nehal Wadhera, 12.5 ov), 6-210 (Tim David, 17.4 ov), 7-223 (Mohammad Nabi, 18.3 ov), 8-234 (Tilak Varma, 19.1 ov), 9-247 (Piyush Chawla, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Lizaad Williams3034011.3364031
Khaleel Ahmed4045211.2574300
Mukesh Kumar4059314.7565500
Kuldeep Yadav3047015.6625310
Axar Patel2024012.0011200
Rasikh Salam403438.5081230

Despite the loss, Mumbai Indians showed resilience in their chase, with notable contributions from Pandya, Varma, and David. Delhi Capitals’ bowlers, led by Bumrah, Chawla, and Wood, held their nerve in the final overs to secure a hard-fought victory.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here